Comments Disguised As a Sercurity Concern Question.

The year is 2012 right? Just checking because after watching the latest City Council meeting and seeing some guy get up a spew the garbage he was spewing I thought maybe we’ve gone back in time. If you haven’t seen the meeting yet you should at the end during the public comments some guy gets up and starts asking about security after the election when the President loses. He disguised his disgusting comments as a questioned about police security because of all the rioting that he said will happen after President Obama losses. Talking about those people are all around us the and what is the police department going to do to protect us when those people start to riot? Amazing that the Chief of Police had to address his question considering what the man was saying, but he did and told him that in essence they can handle it. Someone on the council asked who are those people you keep referring to. The Negroes was the mans answer as if you did not understand in an instant who he was talking about. We are a country of freedoms one of the most important of those freedoms is the freedom of speech. He does have the right to ask his question, but should the council have let him carry on when it was clear to anyone with a brain who he was referring to. He said those people are to the west and east of us and those people are going to riot after the President loses. This was a question that would’ve been answered by calling the police department and asking or the Mayors office. There’s no reason to use public airways for such talk unless you are trying to start something. Not sure how the rest of you feel about it, but I didn’t like hearing it and I think our City is better than that.

 

18 thoughts on “Comments Disguised As a Sercurity Concern Question.”

  1. To be fair to the gentleman. This has been a topic on conservative talk radio shows like Rush Limbaugh for a couple of weeks. Also, I got e-mail showing a picture of a police conflict in the street with the caption ” This could be your City”. There are extremest on the right who are promoting the idea that riots could happen as a result of racial tension. When you consider this and the age of the speaker it’s very possible that he listens to talk radio gets e-mail, and coupled with Detroit’s history this created a real concern in his mind. In my opinion, Chief Gavin addressed the issue and that should have ended it.

    Like

  2. Marge called me this morning and told me she hadn’t been able to connect with Fakhoury’s son but she knew no one had approached City Council about rezoning this station. She said she went by and I was right. It is now more of an eyesore than it was before. She said she spoke with Mohammed, the head of the Building Department, and he told her right away this station wasn’t zoned for what it’s currently being used for. He was going to stop by today. She’ll keep me informed. Thanks so much, Marge. I was so upset by this whole thing it took me 2 days to get over it, and I’m still not over it. I just hope that if Fakhoury wants to buy something else in Dearborn Heights, the memory remains of how he treats his customers and his neighbors. I’ll say it again. We don’t need someone like this making money in our community. I spoke with Deep Said What this morning, too, and he told me that the father had treated him the very same way when things had appeared in his column. For those of you who don’t know, Deep Said What writes a blog/column in and about Dearborn happenings.

    Like

  3. Fakhoury didn’t say council had approved it. While he was yelling at me, he said something about his cousin wanting to use the station. The guy driving one of the tow trucks is the one who told me he had bought the station from Fakhoury and council had approved him using the property for storage. I thought at the time that 1) if Fakhoury HAD sold the property, why didn’t he (Fakhoury) just say – it’s no longer ours. We sold it; 2) Fakhoury said his cousin wanted to use the station and the other guy said he’d bought it. I question the veracity of the tow truck driver. In either case, I certainly don’t want all those big trucks and old cars being stored on that property. Property values have come down enough. We don’t need this kind of crap mucking up the landscape.

    Like

  4. There’s been other complaints at council about this station going back a couple of years to think he would say that the council approved having a bunch of cars and trucks parked at a run down eye sore gas station is laughable.

    Like

  5. I believe that side of Gulley is Dearborn Heights. I went to the gas station on the Dearborn side. The owner was not in. I was told that he comes in early in the morning so I guess I will be getting up early tomorrow to see if I can catch him.

    Like

  6. The property in question is on the west side of Gulley which is Dearborn Heights. Mr. Fakhoury’s sullen, miserable son was at the station on the east side of Gulley in Dearborn. By the way, Marge, if you want to contact me, I’ll send my contact information to your e-mail. I don’t think you’ll find this person at the station because he doesn’t “work” there. I’d like to hear what he had to say to you. I wouldn’t be surprised if he cussed you out, too. The guys that work at the station are all very pleasant.

    Like

  7. Thank You Marge after reading what this man said and did makes me sick you might want to talk with someone on the Council in Dearborn because the property is in Dearborn I don’t think Dearborn lets a business have a bunch of cars and trucks on a property that is closed down and looking the way the place does.

    Like

  8. I’m not Janet Badalow but I am a Councilwoman. I know nothing about this property being approved for anything in the past 10/12 years. I intend to pay a visit to this gentleman????
    today.

    Like

  9. Just to clear something up, I’ve found out the rude, sullen individual was in fact Fakhoury’s son. He is a man in his own right. Just not a very well brought up man. The apple doesn’t fall far from the tree, does it?

    Like

  10. From what Kathy has said, he sounds like an escapee – PERIOD. On another note. The old Amoco gas station is at the corner of Gulley and Michigan Avenue. It’s been sitting there for YEARS, going down hill more and more. This gas station and the one on the east side of Gulley and the one across the street next to the DH police station/courts all used to be owned by H. Fakhoury. You know. The guy who owns so much in Dearborn who has no tenants in his buildings? I’m pretty sure he sold the station next to the police station but I think he still owns the one on Michigan and Gulley in Dearborn and then the old Amoco on Michigan and Gulley in DH, on either side of Gulley. This morning, this old gas station was populated with a bunch of tow trucks and parked cars. I stopped in to speak with the owner at the gas station at Michigan and Gulley in Dearborn. He came out and let me tell you he had a chip on his shoulder. I asked him if he owned the property across the street and he said yes, and why. I asked him how long the cars and trucks were going to be parked there. His response (and I quote) was – what the f – – – business is it of yours, bitch. I told him I lived in the neighborhood and all those cars and trucks in that station were bringing down my property values. He said (once again, I quote) why the f – – – should I care? Big conversationalist, huh? I told him I’d already spoken to the police department about them and he said – go talk to the police. I don’t care. It’s private property and I can do anything I want with it. Now, get the fu – – out of my station, you fat-assed bitch – oh, sorry. It was fu – – – – – fat-assed bitch. I’m writing this to let you know what a wonderful business man he is and to let all of you know how he values his neighbors and customers. Also, to tell you how he’s interested in keeping our neighborhood looking as good as it can. He came to our country – not just to make money – but for a better life. But the thing is. He doesn’t care about us. He only wants the better life for himself and if he makes it on our backs, that’s fine. I took pictures of the station with all the cars and while doing that, one of the guys loading cars on the flat bed came over to talk with me to find out what I was doing. He told me he’d bought the station from Fakhoury and that this is exactly what he’s going to be doing with it; parking cars and trucks on it. He said it’s already been approved by city council. I sent the pictures to Janet Badelow, and I’m waiting for a response to find out if it’s true. I can’t tell you how upset I am with this person. I will NEVER put foot in this station again and I’m also asking all of you to boycott it. Even though the station is in Dearborn, it’s right across the border from DH. We don’t need people and businesses in our city that treat our residents as he did.

    Like

  11. I saw this when I viewed the council meeting. I know a lot of transplants to Dearborn Heights during the 50’s and 60’s were from Southwest Detroit. I was about 17 years old and remember the tanks rolling down Vernor Highway and the soldiers stationed at Patton Park during the “race” riots. Unfortunately, some of these former Southwesters (and other parts of Detroit) are still living in the past and cannot deal with the present muchless the future..

    When I am riding down Dearborn Heights streets I see children of all races playing together and having a good time. I feel sorry for those adults who are still living in the past. Thank goodnes, our children who are our present and our future have got it right.

    Like

  12. It was a sick display of an ignorant man. The counsel had no warning and I think all who watched were appalled. Although I don’t think his ignorance is worth the time or the effort. We are a diverse community and we all need to come together for the better of all.

    Like

  13. What? I don’t have cable any more. I have direct tv. We don’t get to watch anymore.
    Sounds like a bone head to me. He should be more worried about the break ins, and the increase of drunken homeless people that we seen roaming the neighborhood. Riots? Please. If this is what he is focused on, and not help support the everyday safety of our city, boy his priorities are out of wack.
    What year are we in? He must be stuck with era of segregation.

    Like

  14. When I first saw the meeting I thought what the hell is he talking about. Where I live in the heights white people live east and west of me. Realizing what he meant I thought are you nuts? However he is entitled to his three minutes to say anything he chooses. They had to answer his concerns even if they deemed it an inappropriate question. My television screen went blank and the council meeting was concluded. They should not be censoring peoples speech.

    Like

  15. He sounded like an escapee from the early 1960’s. I was happy that the Council shut him down right away and declared him “out of order.”

    I wonder if he was part of someone’s “agenda” or if he just showed up on his own. Some of the people who get up to speak are “regulars,” but I’ve never seen him before.

    Like

Leave a Reply

