Kindness Shown, but Is It For Everyone?

The Mayor is showing a kindness that some are very surprised to see, but is that kindness reserved only for certain people? One day last week the Mayor had a very small visitor in his office. I can understand as can any working mother how hard it is to find someone to take care of your children when you have to go to work. Someone over at City Hall found themselves in just that position last week and found it necessary to bring their child/baby to work. The question many are having is if they found themselves in that same position would the heads of their departments allow them to bring their child/baby to work? Would the Mayor have such a generous heart if he saw many of his employees bring their children/babies to work? This is a kindness that only the Mayor can give I’ve no doubt that other department heads wouldn’t dream of letting their employees do the same unless the Mayor allowed it. The Mayor’s in charge of the whole city he’s in charge of all departments he does have final say.

I certainly have no idea how many employees working for the city have children I’m not sure if this is even an issue, but it sure was for someone working out of the Mayors office last week. I hope that if other employee finds themselves in the same position the Mayor will show the same kindness and understanding as he did this time. I’m sure what ever work this person had to get done did get done. I’m just pointing out that if this isn’t something your willing to allow for everyone it shouldn’t be allowed for anyone.

25 thoughts on “Kindness Shown, but Is It For Everyone?”

  1. http://www.topnews.in/usa/baby-brains-bring-smarter-computers-closer-reality-216400
    I hope you can post this picture it goes with my comment. Smart babies get the job done perhaps help was needed working on the NSP program?? Maybe the council should watch the invoice for professional cosultation for this childs fee’s?? I wonder if taxes will be taken out of this childs pay?? Everyone seems to worry about this child but seems maybe they are use to childish behavior in this office?? This does not seem the place for a child to be seriously.

    Like

  2. Lisa, I would disagree with you. Now that more information has come to light, I would agree that this was an utterly inappropriate action on the mayor’s part. However, in the original post there was no mention of another employee having to take care of the child on the city’s time. There was no mention of any municipal rule against such action. There was a suggestion of favoritism on the Mayor’s part, but no proof that there has been another case of another employee being denied the same generosity. As far as I could tell by the original post, a baby was brought into work in a carrier and it was laid quietly in the corner of an office and did not disturb anyone. If that was the case, frankly, who cares? I don’t believe that would bother anyone in city hall. So, to an average citizen who doesn’t have intimate knowledge of the situation, the original post is shoddy reporting. It’s glorified gossip. Most of the facts have been filled in by subsequent posters. I’m just saying to get all of the facts in line before shooting from the mouth.

    Like

  3. And for sure no one’s ever going to put anything in her file. If they had, she’d have been bounced long ago. Where the heck is HR in all this? Do they have a title and nothing to back it up?

    Like

  4. What employee hand book to my knowledge there is only one department that does do reviews of employees in their department and that would be the new clerk or so I’ve heard I’ve not verified this.
    I’ve been told its almost impossible to fire someone that isn’t in a union because no one ever puts anything in anyone’s file so there is never a record of patterns of certain employees.

    Like

  5. To a Young Man – It’s not shoddy reporting. The reality is that all municipalities and gov’t agencies that I am aware of have rules against this sort of thing. Everything from your computer, to the printer to the paper is gov’t property paid for by the taxpayer. To use it for personal gain is huge no-no. I was actually involved in the review of a case; a young admin who used her computer & printer to do schoolwork. She was fired. It was ruled just cause. My opinion is that to bring a child to work and watch them using time allocated and paid for by the taxpayers surely qualifies as using gov’t resources. IF the Mayor approved this behaviour it creates a quandry if anyone in another dept. wants to do the same. Full disclosure – I have labor relations and arbitration experience, but I have never read the employee handbook for DH – has anyone else on this blog?

    Like

  6. A Young Man: You say, “Why would I turn a blind eye to people who post things on here that are biased, incorrect, or not telling the full story when it could affect the way people vote in the city?” Perhaps you’ve never seen political ads on TV? If someone is going to be influenced in the way they vote, the impact of this blog is miniscule compared to those. Maybe you should turn your talents to the larger national stage. I think your immense talent would be wasted here.

    Like

  7. Looking to The New York Times for journalist standards you must be joking. However,it would appear alot of posts come from unhappy city workers. Should city workers be forced to baby sit someone’s child instead of doing the work they were hired to do I think not.

    Like

  8. Thanks, Kathy, and as you have seen I am more than willing to post when I agree with your assessments of a situation (I believe I’ve done it a few times).

    As for your post, bitsy, I think that everyone on this blog has a pretty high opinion of themselves judging by the way they post. I’m no different. You say “If you’re so unhappy with this blog, why don’t you just spare us and yourself and spread your clever remarks somewhere else”. Well that’s one of the major problems with the attitude of Americans today. “If you don’t like it here in America, why don’t you just get out”. You hear it all the time. Well, dissent is the highest form of patriotism. When you see something that matters, that is affecting everything around you, and it is going down the tubes isn’t it more responsible to try to fix it rather than just running away? Why would I turn a blind eye to people who post things on here that are biased, incorrect, or not telling the full story when it could affect the way people vote in the city?

    Also, everyone is entitled to their own opinion unless that opinion is made void by objective facts. You can say that the sky is purple all you want, but it doesn’t make it true.

    Like

  9. A Young Man: Perhaps you didn’t notice that this isn’t the New York Times and the people who post here are not journalists (and that includes you). People express their opinions and feelings about things that matter to them. That those opinions are not important to you is of little consequence or concern. Don’t read the blog.

    You’re going to keep people honest? You’re going to point out where everyone else is wrong? Who made you editor? Why should anyone believe what you say over the thoughts of others who post here? You reek of arrogance and condescension and seem intent, not on keeping people honest, but in proving your superiority over everyone else. If you want in-depth, thoroughly researched, unbiased journalism, go watch Fox News.

    Everyone here, even us good old gossip-loving idiots, should be free to express our opinions and not feel intimidated because someone is judging our adherence to the Times’ journalistic standards. We’re just regular people. Do you think that posts are purposely fabricated? Of course, you could be possibly be someone who just diagrees with the tenor of Kathy’s posts and is using ridicule to make a point without revealing your identity. That is both the beauty and the curse of the Internet.

    There is plenty of room for healthy disagreement here and if erroneous information is posted, there’s no shortage of people willing to correct it. As for bias, none of us are under any obligation to forsake our opinions and report only straight news. This is a blog, not the 6 o’clock news. Everyone here has an opinion about the city, the administration, the schools, etc. and they have the right to express that opinion. Who are you to regulate what people say?

    Like

  10. As for not posting sources I can’t it would cost people their jobs I will not do that for the sake of ths blog ever.

    I do double check my information I’ve backed up much of what I’ve said with documents on this blog I’m not here for ideal gossip if I wanted to do that ths blog would be much different discussing peoples personal lives and so forth. I bring up issues that concern the people living in and working for the city. If it has anything to do with how our money is spent including how those who get paid from our taxes are doing their jobs I will write about it.

    It’s good always to have someone elses prospective on things that’s why I value others point of view so much. I’m not always right in my way of thinking and I’m open to changing my mind if a good argument is made. I appreciate you not being to insulting towards me in your comments and agian your always welcome to express how you feel here and keep me honest and on my toes. Not that I need to be kept honest that I’am I write what I honestly feel on any given subject.

    Like

  11. And you’re going to be the deciding factor? Wow. You really have a good opinion of yourself. If you’re so unhappy with this blog, why don’t you just spare us and yourself and spread your clever remarks somewhere else. Like Kathy says: Everyone is entitled to their own opinion – even if they think their opinion is the ONLY opinion.

    Like

  12. Yeah, yeah, you make an ass out of you and me, bitsy. We all love a good cliche. And if you couldn’t tell by all of my posts, my main concern is the reduction of all forms of news media into a circus and the fact that everyone buys into it: Unnamed, unverified sources, no follow up, made up or sensationalized stories, partisan spin, personal attacks, and blatant bias (all of which have been perfectly mastered on this blog). I even posted the New York Times journalism standards in a comment a while back to prove how ridiculous everyone on here is. It honestly would be funny if the lack of real, honest information wasn’t destroying our country, state, and city. And while I believe this blog was started with the best of intentions, it has been reduced to more of the same. This blog is really nothing more than a gossip column. And I’ll point that out at every chance I get.

    Like

  13. I agree. The issue is not that someone had a child care problem. The issue is that someone abused the power she holds in city hall and required other employees to care for that child (who isn’t even hers) while she attended to other duties. Such a dedication to her job!

    Like

  14. Thanks, Kathy, you will definitely be hearing more from me. If you are attempting to keep the city honest then I think that it’s only fair that someone keeps YOU honest.

    Like

  15. Thanks for raising the issue Kathy. With knowledge of the situation this is an issue and bringing “your” child to work and forcing other departments/employees to watch it so you can go to a meeting is total BS

    Like

  16. Agreed. As I’ve said before, Kathy, you are the shoddiest “journalist” (and I use that term in the loosest sense) that I’ve ever seen…and we’ve all seen what’s happened to cable news in recent years. This is simply sensationalism with no real facts and there’s not even really a story here. Someone brought their child to work. So what? Is there any evidence of favoritism? Has any other city employee made a request to bring their child and been denied? Is this an issue that is plaguing the offices of City Hall? You’re writing just to write and try to bring up an issue that doesn’t seem to exist. Get it together.

    Like

  17. We’re all tired I’m sure the people who work over at city hall are tired most of all considering they have to see this stuff every day. They sure thought it important enough to tell me about it and ask I write something, but thank you for coming and as skyways your comments are welcome at any time.

    Like

  18. You know, I was just looking at Crestwood HS for a class and read they have a licensed, child-care facility. In this facility, the students are trained in how to work/run such a facility. Perhaps whomever took their child to work was unaware.

    Like

Leave a Reply

