Dear Council

Please stop the charade please the next time our new clerk wants something don’t ask any questions please approve it without the fanfare. Please dear Council save all of us the pain of having to watch the show better yet why not pass a resolution that states from this day forward our new clerk doesn’t even have to come before you to ask for approval. It’s just a waste of time to do so considering you’re going to give him what ever he wants any way. Please pass a resolution that says he’s exempt from following the charter it would save so much time after all he’s right government just gets in the way. I mean not you guys, no for sure your not getting in his way, but please make it simpler for him could you.

Walter you go right on doing what you’re doing you just keep spending that money budget be damned. Hey all the rest of you over at city hall Walter has paved the way you go get those deputies back, get those extra people your departments need Walter has paved the way for it to happen for you all.  What’s the council going to say “no” not likely they gave the go ahead to Walter. Walter you trail blazer you you’re blazing the trail for the rest of the city I think a Thank You is in order for all the hard work and effort that you’ve put into getting everything you want for yourself. To think the former clerk was willing to work without all of what you are getting can’t understand how she was going to do the job.

Walter any time you need to dip in my pocket for some more $Cash$ don’t hesitate to ask after all what’s a few thousand dollars amongst friends think nothing of it. That’s what us taxpayers are here for that’s our job keep the money coming in. Just one more thing I didn’t know check and balance was government getting in the way thanks for setting us all straight on that.

17 thoughts on “Dear Council”

  1. If the absentee ballots didn’t go out in time, what happens. Are the any concequences? And if there are, is the cities going to be fined? Hope not.

    Like

  2. Whoa: If you have followed the information submitted about our elected clerk, you will see that repeatedly the clerk has reneged on his campaign promises. In adition, it seems as if the coucil will agree to anything requested by him, regardless of the cost. This data base issue is just one more example.

    Like

  3. Success is to be measured not so much by the position one has reached in life as by the obstacles which he has overcome. – Booker T.Washington

    To reiterate, I support and encourage our residents to be actively involved. This is OUR CITY(this includes myself,my family, etc.) I will continue to work together addressing the changes our City faces, as do many other Cities. Recognize, address and resolve-together.

    I did not say and specify any single individual as being “the problem.”

    I appreciate our residents for their time and committment to maintaining OUR CITY as a great place to live.

    Together we will achieve the extraordinary.

    Like

  4. Dear Mr.Bigdog,

    I am sorry if I implied “you were the problem.” I don’t beleive I said that.In fact, I encourage our residents to be actively engaged in our City, therefore they are a part of our solution-a resolution to an exisitng problem we all face. I agree and have discussed the property across fromTarget (Ford Road) with our Building Director and did check the history as well.Yes,this has been an on going problem. It has been addressed repeatively. The problem is the neighbor who is not familar,or does not care to comply with our City’s ordinances. Time and time again, therre are those residents who “know the system” and are repeat offenders. This within itself may be the problem and we need to address the procedure itself.However, Council does not have jurisdication over court proceedings. Council can recognized,propose and pass an ordinance. We must access our City resources and the feasibility of enforcement, empowering those charged with enforcement.

    Our City is changing everyday.Dearborn Heights is not immune to change, or any other City or Township. The difference between those who succeed and those who fail is the ability to recognize and embrace change. (I did not say go with the flow). What I did say,and continue to say every week in the weekly office hours I offer is…this is OUR City! I am a resident first and will continue to work towards recognizing,addressing and resolving OUR CITY’s problems.(OUR-includes myself and my family).

    I encourage our residents to contact me at (313) 633-1845. I welcome your comments and suggestions.Please, if you can attend anyone of the four weekly office hours or I will meet you at your convenience. Together we will achieve our goal of maintaining OUR CITY as a great place to live, raise our families,etc.

    Respectfully,

    Lisa Hicks-Clayton
    Dearborn Heights Councilwoman

    Like

  5. HERE WE GO YOUR CHANGING THE WHOLE THING AROUND I’M NOT THE PROBLEM. MY HOUSE IS KEPT UP JUST LIKE 75 % OF THE PEOPLE IN THIS CITY. I DO CALL IN THE PROBLEMS IN THIS CITY WHEN I DRIVE AROUND I DO MY PART . THE HOUSE ON FORD ROAD HAS BEEN LIKE THIS FOR YEARS ITS BEEN TO COURT I WAS TOLD BY THE ORDINANCE DEPT. GO BY IT NOW ITS A USED CAR LOT HES SELLING CARS.I HAVE LIVED HERE SINCE 1960 THIS CITY IS CHANGING TO LOOK LIKE DETROIT HEIGHTS I DON,T CARE WHAT YOU SAY PEOPLE THAT MOVE INTO THIS DON.T GIVE A DAM ABOUT THERE HOUSE THEY BUY OR RENT. JUST LIKE THE NEWS SAID YOU CAN BUY A HOME IN DBH HGTS CHEAPER THEN A CAR. THE FIRE WORKS ITS UP TO COUNCIL TO MAKE A ORDINANCE DON’T WAIT TO THE LAST MINUTE TO MAKE A DECISION . AND BECAUSE I TURNED MY NEIGHBOR IN ABOUT THE FIREWORKS ITS BEEN HELL LIVING NEXT TO THEM. SO I DID LIKE YOU AND YOUR CLOWNS AND CALLED IT INTO THE POLICE.AND YOU SAY I’M THE PROBLEM.SO PLEASE DON’T COME HERE AND PUT THE BLAME ON ME I DO MAKE CALLS AND COMPLAINT ABOUT THE PROBLEMS IN THIS CITY. WELCOME TO DETROIT HEIGHTS

    Like

  6. City Council and OUR City officials have been working at addressing the fireworks. An ordinance is proposed and the first reading completed at the July 10 meeting.The ordinance is very aggressive. Act 256 does prohibit local ordinances from being enforced the day prior, day of, and the day after the legal holiday (10 legal holidays in the calendar year).. The city of Dearborn Heights is establishing a task force. Enforcement is the challenge ALL municipalities face. The State should have considered the consequences when approving the unrestricted sales of fireworks. Cities with limited resources due to cut backs and decline in values.Residents are encouraged to contact their State legislaturers as the change must start there-ask for a repeal!

    In regard to the homes with boats,etc., especially along the Ford Road corridor-I have followed up extensively on this piece. Our Ordinance Officers have issued, according to procedure and due process, warnings, issued tickets with fines and now will have to move to taking the non-compliant resident(s) to court. It is NOT being ignored. The same is true for the Warren Road issue.

    Please forward the address of the grass problem. I continue to do drive arounds with residents requesting,as well as on my own, addresssing such problems be it blight, rats, grass or vacant home maintenance, and other ordinance issues. I continue to meet with residents on Monday at Berwyn Center, Tuesday at Eton Center, Wednedays at I-Hop(Ford/Tele) and Thursday at Richard Young Center. (not too much time dedicated to being a clown-lol!!) . That was meant to be a joke…..

    All opinions are welcomed. However, it takes a village to raise a child meaning this is OUR CITY-take ownership. I like you, am a resident first and will make every effort to improve and maintain OUR CITY. As an Army mother, wife, family, I have lived many,many places. I love living in Dearborn Heights. Yes, things are changing, as they are anywhere and everywhere. I feel every individual, if you feel strongly enough and are dedicated, can and will make a difference. The choice is yours-be part of the problem, or part of the solution. I chose the later….

    Respectfully Submitted ,

    Lisa Hicks-Clayton
    Dearborn Heights Councilwoman

    (for informational purposes only)

    Like

  7. No one has really discussed whether the “requested” database is temporary and what will happen when the City’s “preferred” system becomes available.

    Like

  8. Why is the clerk being cast as this horrible, evil person? Is he allowed to disagree with anyone? The level of vitriol on this issue way outweighs the “crime”.

    Either the database he is requesting is cost effective or it isn’t. From what I have been able to gather, he is asking for a new database because the one everyone else uses doesn’t work.

    Is it really horrible to get one that does? How long is everyone willing to wait before the problem database works? 6 months? A year? To me that sounds unacceptable.

    Would anyone here “ride” a product that doesn’t work that long? Has anyone thought to ask the cost of the database not working properly against the cost of a new one? How many hours are wasted struggling with the system the clerk has opted out of? What would be the costs of waiting?

    Although there is room for disagreement it seems way inappropriate to just attack without some thread of logic. Casting him as some sort of tyrant I think is a bit far fetched from what I read.

    Like

  9. I HAVE SAID IT BEFORE THE CITY COUNCIL AND MAYOR ARE ACTING LIKE WERE DETROIT.WE HAVE MORE PROBLEMS IN THIS CITY LIKE NOW THE FIRE WORKS STILL GOING OFF JULY 14 NEXT DOOR NEIGHBOR 11 PM STARTS UNLOADING FIRE WORKS IT TOOK POLICE 45 MINUTES TO GET TO THE HOUSE THAT I CALL IT IN THREE TIMES JUST TO TELL THEM YOU CAN NOT SHOOT THEM OFF.LOOK At THE HOMES ON FORD ROAD THAT I HAVE BEEN CALLING ABOUT THE BOATS THE WORK TRUCKS THE CAMPERS STORAGE IN FRONT OF HOMES NOTHING IS GETTING DONE.I HAVE SEEN HOMES WITH GUTTER FALLING OFF WEEDS THAT ARE TWO FEET HIGH BUT NO GRASS ON WARRINGTON AND BERWYN CALLED THAT IN BEEN GOING ON TWO WEEKS NOTHING DONE.THIS CITY LIKE I KEEP TELLING EVERYBODY CHANGE THE SIGN TO DETROIT HEIGHTS. BUT WE ARE ALL UP SET ABOUT A CLERK.BUT MAYBE SOMEBODY CAN TURN THE COUNCIL MEETINGS INTO A COMEDY SHOW! BECAUSE THEY ARE A JOKE.

    Like

  10. Bwahahahaha…cant say its not entertaining here on the good ole whine blog. The winner in all of this? The mayor, who seems to be left alone while walt is the current target. I hope he asks for another employee just so I can see people lose it again.

    Like

  11. Amen! Amen! I could have not said it better. However, I do want to thank councilwomen Badalow and Hicks-Clayton for standing up and voting no. They are the only council members that don’t view the HO as a candy dish for all to take from.

    Like

  12. Am I to presume the council gave Mr. P what he wants? I don’t use the word “assume” because you know what they say about that. Assume means you make an ass out of you and me. The council’s already doing that to us. No need for word games.

    Like

  13. Kathy, you have spoken for many of us. How do we start putting the cuffs on this boo hoo clerk? I want his job if that’s all it takes! This city is going down the tubes one “request” at a time. He is no longer working for me, he is huffing his own horn, I don’t want a penny of my tax dollars going to his office, for anything! He has to stop it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

