Five Million Dollar Lawsuit…

When the Mayor was elected there was no such thing as tickets for overtime, shortly after he’s election he introduced the program. Source inside say he stated it’s not illegal, but it is controversial. For years the city balanced the budget with the tickets for overtime program. According to Talk of Detroit in 2004 the city wrote 26,622 tickets compare that to 2009 42,957. The state did come in and say that cities can not do this and for a while the Dearborn Heights Police Department was not. That is not the case anymore and the Mayor has said as much in study sessions. The Mayor in his plan has the justice center revenue up another 250,000.00 a number that department would come by mostly through traffic tickets. Councilman Berry point-blank said at a study session that he is sick and tired of balancing the budget on the residents back through traffic tickets. The more revenue declines the more pressure put on the police department to write those tickets. Making that department a very large source for the cities revenue.

Take this example in 2008 Gully rd was having work done on it, when you came from Michigan ave to turn on to Gully Rd there was a very small sign that said no thru traffic. No signs warning of a detour, or sign giving an alternate route. That one spot generated around 30,000.00 in on month for the city of Dearborn Heights there were so many making the turn that the police had them lined up on the side of the road waiting to get their tickets 15 and 20 at a time, the average ticket was $130.00 for impeding traffic. I bring this up because if you read the lawsuit filed against the city this all started with a simple Stop Sign Roll Thur. Now the city is being sued for 5 million dollars I don’t know if they will win, but you can imagine how much the attorney fees are at this point in the thousands I’m sure.

You can find the link to the lawsuit in the comment section under a comment made by Tom23.

52 thoughts on “Five Million Dollar Lawsuit…”

  1. This intelligent thinking person says “thank you” for writing to the author!!! If I could find out who actually wrote the book, I would tell her myself! I did do a search on the internet to find out who the author was. Would you like to share the book and author? Yes, I know you were just being a smart a$$, but everybody had the right to their own opinion.

    Like

  2. So she wrote it too literally. I would think that intelligent-thinking people would know that she didn’t mean he would shoot if someone swore at him or told him to p – – – off, Kerry. I’ll write to the author and tell her you have a problem with her quote.

    Like

  3. You may want to re-read your post. You stated that if you are belligerent, you may fall victim to deadly officer shootings. Is that not what you said? And I also said that I would completely back an officer is they ***threatened*** to shoot a person that tried to get back in their car and absolutely would back an officer if a person tried to “run over the nice officer performing the traffic stop.” Did you read my ENTIRE comment? The only thing from your post that I had an issue with was “don’t talk back. Don’t be rude or belligerent” and you would be shot. If you have read any of my prior comments, you would know what my occupation is.

    Like

  4. Just read your post, Kerry. Are you sure that if a police officer told you to stop and you didn’t, that he might pull his gun and at that point, if you still didn’t stop he would just threaten to shoot? All things being relative, I would think he would do what the situation called for. I would also think that if the situation got to the point where he felt the need to pull his gun, he’d better be ready to use it. But then, what do I know? I’m ignorant.

    Like

  5. I’m really not sure if this is supposed to be a joke, Bitsy or you are quoting this from some sort of “police haters” book. I’m certain you cannot be “shot” if you talk back or are rude or belligerent to a police officer. I would completely back an officer if he ***threatened*** to shoot a person that tried to get back in their car and absolutely would back the officer if a person tried to “run over the nice officer performing the traffic stop”. I’m not sure what your post is implying, but it sounds ignorant!

    Like

  6. Just read something in one of my books that sums this up:

    Handy little tips for those of you who don’t want to fall victim to deadly officer shootings: Do as you’re told. Don’t talk back. Don’t be rude or belligerent. Don’t try to escape. Don’t get back in your car and try to run over the nice officer performing the traffic stop. If you should be so foolhardy as to attempt any of the above, don’t complain later of your injuries and do not file suit.

    Like

  7. But that’s not what I was talking about Nancie77. Of course you can make a Michigan left when you exit THE POLICE DEPARTMENT PARKING LOT. How else would the police be able to go north and west? Let’s not confuse the issue. When you exit THE GAS STATION lot, you CANNOT make a Michigan left from THE GAS STATION LOT. You have to go east on Michigan Avenue to the first Michigan left passed Gulley and make your turn there. Enough!

    Like

  8. Kerry (if that is your real name),

    My, my, my. A little touchy, aren’t we? There will be no more posts on this issue.

    Like

  9. Wow, “I’m also anonymous” you’re so funny! Yes, that is being facetious. Do you need an English grammar lesson to learn what THAT means? Did you have to look up the fact that “smart” is an adjective? I’m extremely smart and NOT an ass. So, grow up! And use your real name like I do. Quit hiding behind a STUPID fake name!

    Like

  10. Sorry, Nancy, but you CANNOT make a Michigan left at that turn around. If you do, you will be one of the many who is issued a violation. I know because I see the police sit and wait for someone to do exactly that.

    Like

  11. I have a police scanner in my office. I don’t always know which of the local departments I’m listening to, but I can tell that sometimes the cars work in teams with one “spotting” cars and the other (or others) pulling them over. While I’ve never heard anything racial (the police on the radio are very professional), I have heard cars (and pedestrians) being followed and pulled over because a citizen has reported that they are suspicious don’t “belong” in a neighborhood. I think the citizens are in the best position to know for their neighborhood what is normal and what is not. With all the break-ins, I watch my neighborhood a lot more carefully now, as I’m sure a lot of people do.

    Like

  12. The sign says right turn only because you are entering a one way street. You may in fact turn left at that turn around. Closer to the entrance you can’t.

    Like

  13. This is just B.S. I can’t understand why race is even a subject. This makes me sick. The reason their is a United States is because people from ALL OVER THE WORLD came here to get away from all of the B.S. For all of US who are not native to this land, JUST SHUT UP ABOUT BEING AMERICAN. This is why our country is in such bad shape, we can’t get along with each other. PLEASE don’t bring race into this, it makes us all look bad, hell we don’t need any help doing that we do a good enough job by our selves. As far as giving tickets out just to give them out, I am not in favor of that, but if you break the law you must pay. Police should be doing police work not just sitting in their cars waiting to give a ticket. They need to patrol our streets and stop all of the B&E’s that are going around. Having safest and cleanest city in the state would go along way in resolving most of our problems that we have, with safe being the no.1 item on the list. With that we need police who patrol not just sitting and waiting to catch someone roll a stop sign while getting paid overtime. Overtime is somthing this city can’t afford. P.S. Kathy keep up the good work!

    Like

  14. Bitsy08,
    I have no doubt that you have seen police officers completely blow stop signs. I know a few and they DO think they are “above the law”. Honestly, I DO NOT think it’s right. But, it’s not for me to judge. I know that I follow speed limits, stop signs and other signs and I don’t get pulled over. That is why I said what I did. And honestly, I don’t care what officers are breaking the law themselves. I’m sure they all do it. I don’t think it’s right, but I know they do.

    As for different cities having different opinions on what certain signs mean, that doesn’t make sense. Especially if it’s on a state or county road. The state/county put up the signs, not the city. If there is an issue, the state/county needs to be called to tell whatever city how the sign is to be enforced.

    Like

  15. Kerry,

    When I need an English grammar lesson, I won’t go looking for a police officer. Perhaps you ought to remove the adjective “smart” from your last sentence.

    Like

  16. Okay. Now I’ve got another one for you. When I talk about the gas station “just” east of the police/court offices, does everyone know which one I mean (in front of Home Depot)? When you are exiting the first drive closest to the police station, it says turn right only or right turn only (don’t see the difference) which means you CANNOT make a right turn and then go across Michigan Avenue to make the Michigan left. SO many people do it. If they want to hit their quota, all the have to do is hide themselves and write tickets every hour for those that make that “illegal” turn. I put the word in quotes because I was in Wayne and wanted to turn right, go across Michigan Avenue and make the left turn. There was a Wayne police officer sitting at the stop sign. I pulled up and asked him if I could do it. He looked at me like I was crazy and said – sure. Will someone please explain to me what the difference is between that Michigan left and the one in front of the gas station? Kerry thinks it’s so simple but when different cities have different laws for what looks like the same situation, how are you supposed to know what you can and can’t do? And perhaps the “right turn only” sign at the drive at the gas station is a little ambiguous. Perhaps they should have a sign that says Michigan left not allowed. Does it make it illegal when it’s posted and not when it’s not? Confused? So if it’s not posted, can you do it and KNOW that you won’t get a ticket? Or is it another – Ignorance of the law is no excuse. And another thing, Kerry. You said – break the law and you get a ticket. Obey the law – no ticket. As I said – I see the police run (and I’m not talking rolling stops) EVERY DAY. Do you want me to forward those license plate/car numbers to you and you can call the station and make sure they’re issued a violation? I can do that but you’re going to be awful busy.

    Like

  17. CJX

    Thank you in drbnhgts it 10 tickets in four hours and if they get the tickets before the four hours I’ve heard they can go home and collect that time not sure if any officers do that. That do roll their over time into their pension. One reason some will be leaving with such high pension. At one point some officers earned $25,000 to 30,000 in overtime in a year. That number comes from a council member in case your wondering I did not pull it from thin air.

    I’ve asked the question before and will ask it again we have traffic officers who work an 8 hour shift they are suppose to give out tickets during that 8 hour shift. With over time they have to give out 10 in 4 or so I’ve been told. Well if they can give 10 in 4 to get the over time why can’t they give out 20 in 8 during their shift. Maybe they do or do they just give tickets when and if they are on overtime. Point is why do we even need this program to generate revenue even if it’s not 10 tickets in 4 hours lets say it’s 6 in 4 hours they still should be getting 12 tickets in 8 hours no overtime needed. That’s what bothers me about the whole thing.

    I’m not blaming the police this was not their idea and they did not come and say we will only give out tickets for overtime. These programs are the creation of elected officials the fact that the police get to roll overtime into their pensions is something given to them through negotiations.

    Like

  18. Part of the Police budget comes from ticket revenues. In DH case a lot comes from tickets. Just like other cities, Police Departments have told their officer that they must write XX number of tickets per month. But what you think is a Quota isn’t its now called an employee standard. Michigan law states police departments cannot have a quota but they can have an employee standard. I know one department had a standard of 16 per month X$120 or about a 2000/mo per officer or if you have 20 road guys thats about $40k per month or about 1/2 million per year. So why would DHPH have an employee standard? Several years ago Taylor allowed officers (working on there retirement boost) to work as much OT as they wanted as long as they brought in 8 tickets in a 4 hr period. Infact, if they got 8 tickets in 3 hrs they could go home early and still get paid for 4hrs. I know several who got 8 in 2 hours and left….

    Like

  19. I am also anonymous,
    Hello? “right turn only” and “turn right only” mean EACTLY the same thing! Ask a police officer. Good lord! If you can’t find one, call the court. You’re 100% incorrect! What you have stated, “’right turn only’” means that if you decide to turn from the way you are going (straight), the only turn you can make is right, not left. “Turn right only” means out of all the options possible (turn left, turn right, go straight), you MUST turn right.” So, basically what you have just said, BOTH signs mean you HAVE to turn right. Those are your words. Oh, and I’m NOT really confused. I was just being a smart ass!

    Like

  20. Kerry,

    Why are you confused? Nancy explained the difference in her post. “Right turn only” means that if you decide to turn from the way you are going (straight), the only turn you can make is right, not left. “Turn right only” means out of all the options possible (turn left, turn right, go straight), you MUST turn right. In the first phrase, the word “only” is an adjective that modifies the noun, “turn”. It is describing the type of turn that can be made. In the second phrase, the word “only” is used as an adverb to modify the verb “turn”. It would have made more sense I think if “right turn only” was just stated as “no left turn” and if “turn right only” was stated as “you must turn right”. Nothing is ever simple anymore.

    Like

  21. Nancie77,
    The city DOES NOT have control of state road construction signs!! If you’re talking about Ford Rd, that is NOT a city street. Unfortunately, you are wrong. The state of Michigan is responsible for the signage placement as well as the safety of the sign as to not interfere with the flow of traffic. The state of Michigan is also responsible for where these signs will be placed.

    Like

  22. drheights48127,

    I will not argue about this, but I just want everyone to know that on this issue I am 100% correct.
    The overtime ticket program has been in effect for at least 15 years. Maybe the city is screwed up because nobody at city hall or on the council knows what is happening. Dig deeper and you will see that I am correct.
    Nancie,
    The city does not post construction signs on a county road. Any issues with the Ford Rd signs would have to be taken up with Wayne County. And to me the signs mean the same thing.

    Like

  23. Kerry
    The city does have control over the signs put up during construction per the Mayor for “safety measures”. The signs do not mean the same thing per the city of Dearborn Heights traffic court judge.These are the facts I was given. If I have been told some not truthful info. Take it up with the people responsible. I took them at their word.

    Like

  24. That is NOT what I meant at all!!!!!! Please don’t put words into my mouth. I AM NOT a racist, like you obviously are! There are idiots in ALL races that don’t follow police officers orders!

    Like

  25. Nancie77,
    I’m confused. What is the difference between *right turn only* and *turn right only*? This makes absolutely no sense. The signs mean the same exact thing! Also, the city has nothing to do with state road construction signs. You better check your facts!!!

    Like

  26. Bitsy,
    You must roll stop signs in every single city to know that NO other city would have given you a ticket. It doesn’t matter if there was such a program in place or not. Break the law – get a ticket. Obey the law – no ticket. It’s really that simple!

    Like

  27. Anon2,
    Should police officers “be bowed to”? Of course not. “Police officers chose their profession” to protect YOU! Yes, the deserve respect. They deserve more respect than the person that waits on you at Applebees. Come on. “All police officers are good and honest right?” There are dishonest people in ALL professions. You may just need to stop judging!!!

    Like

  28. anonymous-

    Stop “picking on police officers”? Get real. So, all police officers are good and honest right? All police officers should be bowed to? Police officers chose their profession. Of course they deserve respect, but so does EVERYONE else! What other topics are off limits? Be real. Stop judging and listen to the discussion – it my be informative.

    Like

  29. Hi Linda,

    I am with you on this. I really do not want to go into Dearborn Heights anymore. I am starting to take the nearest exit out of DH and do my shopping out of the City. It is a little longer for me. But it is worth it.

    The last 2 years I have been stopped 3 times by DH police – 0 times by other police. The previous 30 years I have not been stopped once by any police. I am a very good and conservative driver. I have not recently changed my driving habits.

    It has gotten to the point where I feel like a we need to challenge certain of our leaders on their Tyrannical behavior and policies. Here is the definition.

    tyr·an·ny   /ˈtɪrəni/ Show Spelled[tir-uh-nee] Show IPA
    noun, plural -nies.
    1. arbitrary or unrestrained exercise of power; despotic abuse of authority.
    2. the government or rule of a tyrant or absolute ruler.
    3. a state ruled by a tyrant or absolute ruler.
    4. oppressive or unjustly severe government on the part of any ruler.
    5. undue severity or harshness.

    We need to organize and let the mayor and his cronies know that we have had enough. And that “we are not going to take it anymore”. We, of course can back this up with the power of elections and recalls.

    Like

  30. Private
    When alot of tickets are subjective you cannot say obey the law and you won’t get a ticket. When the work was being done on Ford Road the signs were designed to be confusing and maximize ticket giving. For example on Beech Daly at Ford Road the sign said Right turn only in the morning in the afternoon the sign was changed to Turn right only. So taking the signage at its word on the first sign you could not make a left turn. On the second sign you could not go straight or turn left. What they really meant who knows. This so called program is not legal. The State made them stop. Maybe the Chief of Police should stop his double dipping and return the money to help out the cities survival.

    Like

  31. Oh, come on. Obey the law? Perhaps you should put in your statement – absolutely to the letter. I got a ticket for a rolling stop. For all intense purposes I was stopped. No other city would have given me that ticket. As I’ve said before – if you’re going to hand out tickets for “breaking the law,” you’d better not be breaking it yourself. Do as I say but not as I do? Huh. Seems a little lopsided to me.

    Like

  32. ALL YOU PEOPLE OUT THERE STOP PICKING ON POLICE OFFICERS. IF YOU KATHY HAVE NOTHING BETTER TO WRITE ABOUT THEN SHUT UP..I GIVE A LOT OF CREDIT FOR A COP TO FACE PEOPLE THAT ARE NUTS OUT THERE IN TODAYS WORLD.OBEY THE LAW AND YOU WONT GET A TICKET.

    Like

  33. Well then private 3 council members either out right lied or don’t know a thing about this city. Not including the 4 people who work for the mayor at city hall, but hey you know it all. I think I will stick with the council members and employees thanks for your FACTS! Any time you would like to see the documentation I have to back up what I say let me know have no problem showing you,

    I think I’ve just about had it with the I miss represent things here. Sorry to say the only people doing the misrepresenting in this city are some of the people we have elected to office. I write what I find out, I write about it because I feel all of us have a right to know about it. Now if you do not want to know you do not have to read, but do not because you can not believe, take it out on me.

    Private please don’t bother replying with how awful I am. I got the message loud and clear from you a year ago. I don’t expect you to agree with everything I say, but to never find one thing I say as having any merit.

    Sorry guys it’s just been a long day and well you can take a horse to water, but you can’t make him drink. I’m not going to try any more have said it to many times already.

    Like

  34. Recheck your facts because the overtime ticket writing did begin under Canfield and that is a FACT.
    Like I said most of your post are incorrect or misleading.

    Like

  35. Private

    That is not true Canfeild did not start this program I have that from many in the city and several on the council who said this was started when this Mayor got in.

    The things I write are backed up with documents or fact checked with employees of the city or council members if they are miss leading me than this city has a very big problem indeed.

    Like

  36. I do not know any of the people that that were involed with this on going law suite. But to Bash Kathy is just wrong. All she is doing is putting information out ther for all of us tax payers to see. i do agree that when the policxe tell you to stop you need to stop, running just makes you look guilty of something. yeasrs ago 2 or 3 Inkster cops were killed by a mother and her 2 sons. The DHTS police may have gone over the line but they also need to protect themselves. Giving tickets just tp raise revenue is just not good for all of us living here. If there is a good reason for a traffic stop then do it but please stop the B.S. tickets like you stoped but not long enough. Yes I have seen police cars speeding just going nowhere.

    Like

  37. FACT… the overtime ticket program began under R. Canfield and not are current Mayor.
    Kathy most of the time your facts are incorrect or misleading. Before you post something you should really do your homework.
    Dearborn Heights is not the only city that has a overtime ticket program. If this program is helping the city to survive I am all for it. Obey the law and you will not have to worry about who is getting a ticket.

    Like

  38. Eddie, Eddie, Eddie, –

    My Goodness! The venom you spew is just amazing!. If you have inside information, please share it with all of us – if it’s just a rumor you heard, then state it’s a rumor. It’s not necessary to be so mean spirited. If you think this page is untruthful, why not start your own? Then, other people can pick apart what you say, or don’t say. Sounds like you have personal issues with the topics discussed here. Didn’t your mother ever teach you that it’s not what you say, but how you say it?

    Like

  39. You know, I’m going to take back everything I said previously about this traffic stop (except the part about the mayor). When the officer told the guy to stop, he should have stopped. If he didn’t have his wallet on him, then assuming his license and insurance information were in his wallet, then he didn’t have his information on him when he ran the stop sign. If he didn’t have his information on him, then he was lookin’ at a bigger ticket. Add to that the fear of the officer as to what else he was going into the house to get and you have a situation that escalated quickly. How did the officer know that this “80 year old woman” didn’t have a gun in her “apron pocket” or was just trying to keep the officer occupied while her son did God knows what else? This whole situation could have been prevented if the driver had just stopped when told. Going into the house to let his “mommy” stick up for him was not acceptable. I kept wondering – how could this situation have been diffused? Call the police? Perhaps if the officer had called for ONE more car instead of multiple cars and dogs, this situation could have resulted in another way. As to them entering the house without a search warrant – don’t they have a right to enter if they have probable cause? Just asking. Don’t really know. What’s done is done, now. It’s up to the courts to decide.

    Like

  40. Sorry did I miss something I don’t recall either one saying anything about Arabs. Eddie G has a problem with me. Sean made the observation that an officer would not know what he went to get In the house. Not sure where the Arab thing comes into play either way the case has nothing to do with Arab.

    Like

  41. SEAN AND EDDIE G I AGREE WITH YOU ALL. THIS IS ARABS LIVING IN THE U.S. THEY DO NOT KNOW THE LAWS. THEY TRY THIS ALL THE TIME.WHEN THEY GET PULLED OVER BY A POLICEOFFICE I SPEAK NO ENGLISH.I NEED A LAWYER .THIS IS B.S.

    Like

  42. Eddie

    I most certainly am not buddies with the attorney for the case I do not even talk to him… I thought you were saying that I am buddies with the guy suing. I do how ever know the attorneys father yes I do and what of it. We do not discuss the case have no reason to, believe it or not that is your issue. Now that you have said such things I will however make sure that I sit down with the father and find out all I can about this case…

    Like

  43. Eddie

    Glad to hear from you again, but what are you talking about “my buddy I don’t even know the man. I clicked on the link and read the case just like everyone else. You obviously have inside knowledge of the case why not enlighten us with it. I did not write anything that is not the truth your own council is sick of the tickets for over- time used to balance the city budget. The case filed makes direct mention of this practice. Something I’ve written about on more than one occasion.

    As far as lawyer fees all you have to do is look at an invoice from the attorney to know this is costing all of us thousand of dollars. I did not read anywhere about drugs and hiding of drugs the article I read made no mention of that. If you know that as a fact and have proof of that then feel free to post that proof up here let us all take a look at it.

    I would say your obvious hatred of me has clouded your judgment my dear. Everything I write you look for any way to call it a lie even when the truth is hitting you in the face. Here is a question for you did the 80 year old have a gun put in her face? If she did why? Is there video of the guy ditching his drugs? How did you come about that information? You put out the information back it up do you have the response from the city attorney that we can read here. If you can not back up what you say please do not post it. Just putting it up here in an attempt to make me look bad does not make it so. If you do not have access to the response from the city please let me know I will go down town and get it myself.

    Thank you so much Eddie your one of the reasons I keep doing this blog. People like you who sell the residents ” everything is just fine folks.” A line that this administration has been spoon feeding to us for years.

    Like

  44. I’m sorry, but this is complete B.S. He ran into his house. How was the officer to know that he wasn’t coming back out with a gun? Let’s remember what happened to Jason Makowski. Police officers just don’t know what people are capable of these days. I hope this family gets NOTHING and actually has to PAY the city back for their attorney fees! If he would have just followed the officers orders, this wouldn’t be an issue. Then again, people think they can do what they want with no repercussions. After all, this county has become sue happy with frivolous lawsuits. Don’t breathe wrong. You may be getting sued next!

    Like

  45. One of the articles I read said: “These acts were … the product of an ongoing conspiracy to conduct and operate a ‘commercial enterprise’ to generate municipal revenue under color of state law, a conspiracy which prompted the pursuit of Mr. and Mrs. Saad’s son and culminated in the egregious and severe violations of Mr. and Mrs. Saad’s Constitutional Rights,” claims the lawsuit, which was filed on behalf of Zihra Saad and her 86-year-old husband, Mahmoud. It is my perception that one doesn’t have anything to do with the other. Sure, the guy was stopped because he “allegedly” rolled through a stop sign, a violation of which I see these same police make every day, but the fact the officer pulled his gun is a huge overreaction to the scene. To me it really doesn’t matter if the mayor is telling the police department to write more tickets (but that’s another story). For this officer to react in such a way is totally beyond all reason. I made a remark to an officer one day who sped passed me on a residential street. He backed up his car and said – did you say something? I said, you’re going kind of fast aren’t you? He got all bent out of shape and said – how do you know I’m not on a call? From his demeanor, I KNEW I needed to keep my mouth shut but what I wanted to ask him was – if you’re on a call, why are you backing up to talk to me? By his actions, it was my deduction that he WASN’T on a call but he surely wasn’t about to be chastised by a citizen. My point is that SOME officers put on the suit and the car and the gun and feel they’re invincible. They can do no wrong and power goes to their heads. It seems they missed something in the classes they took. That truly is an oversimplication on mypart of this incident. If everything this suit alleges is true, then this officer needs to be fired. He’s another huge incident waiting to happen. As you can see by the amount they’re suing for, our city certainly can’t afford this right now and we certainly can’t afford officers who go off half-cocked. But what about all the rest of the police that showed up? Wasn’t there one cool head in the bunch that could have prevailed? That’s pretty scary with that many bodies showing up for a traffic ticket. And wasn’t there a Sargeant on hand? Talk about mob mentality.

    As to our mayor charging our officers to write more tickets, just more of the same, I’m afraid. Just like the Headlee Override, he needs someone else to pay for his mistakes. God forbid he should pay for them himself.

    Like

  46. Will someone from the Police Department or the Legal Department please tell us all EXACTLY what “no through traffic” means generally and what it meant specifically in the Gully Road case??

    Thank you!

    Like

  47. I received a similar kind of ticket in Auburn Hills several years ago. I thought it was poor signage. Every time I turned at a particular spot, the signs were different. It never occurred to me that they might have done that on purpose. I think Auburn Hills made less than $100 from my ticket. But I had to shovel $400 up an attorney’s @ss to keep the points off my license.

    After I heard about the Gully Road fiasco (I live right off of Gully Road), I pretty much stopped driving altogether (now I even order most of my groceries online). When I need to shop locally, I drive west into Inkster and proceed from there, going around Dearborn Heights, which means that Dearborn Heights establishments no longer get my business.

    To the Dearborn Heights Business Community: are a lot of traffic tickets being issued near your businesses? If so, the City is costing YOU money. Maybe I used to do business in your store, but one day I never came back. Do you wonder where your business has gone?

    The only people laughing all the way to the bank from all those tickets are the lawyers. Is that really doing the City any good?

    Like

Leave a Reply

