The North vs The South..

What is it between the north end and south end of  Dearborn Heights? Here is a little history of how the city came to be.

Dearborn Heights was incorporated from the two discontinuous sections of Dearborn Township and a quarter-mile connecting strip of land from the village of Inkster. Incorporation petitions were filed on Friday, March 4, 1960, while Inkster officials delivered their petitions for incorporation on Monday, March 7, 1960. The residents approved Dearborn Heights incorporation on an election held June 20, 1960, which is the official date of incorporation. Inkster filed a lawsuit that was not finally resolved until the Michigan Supreme Court handed down a decision favorable to Dearborn Heights on April 8, 1963.[4][5]

Dearborn Heights is considered a bedroom community.[5]

Source: Wikipedia

Now does anyone see anything there about the south end or the north end? It only say’s Dearborn Heights. Now I’ve heard things over the years about how much the south end people hate the north end people. I would ask why is that I live on the north end why would someone hate me for that? Well years ago several people told me that people on the south end hate people on the north end because the north end has nicer houses. I thought then and still think now that’s complete nonsense. I spent much time walking in the south end I did not find anyone there hating me because I lived on the north end. Yes some did ask me where I lived. However  there was one question asked over and over again. Why is everything taking away from the south end.. Now the funny thing is when my kids were young all the good activities for the kids happened where? Well at the Richard Young center that’s on the south end. We have nothing like that on the north end. I would always wonder way that was. I thought at the time why does the south end get all the good stuff for their kids and we have nothing on this end of town.

I know silly isn’t it, but at the time hauling 3 kids at 3 different times to the south end of town was just crazy to me. When I would tell people how I felt at that time they all laughed because they never looked at it that way before. My point is both ends of town have something the other end does not one thing we all have in common is we are one city. The city as a whole was incorporated as the City of Dearborn Heights. There wasn’t two separate incorporation one for the south end and one for the north end. Now think about this what would you think about having this city chopped up and given to the nearest city. This would be in the worst case, but someone told me that there has been talk of it happening to us because we are so small. Yep they said that if an emergency manager came into the city they have the power to chop us up. So take me for instance well my area could go to Inkster or Garden city or maybe Dearborn. Other areas around me could go to Redford, and Detroit. The south end well some of it could go to Dearborn, Taylor, or Allen Park.  So why not put all the north end south end stuff to the side and be thankful we are the city of Dearborn Heights. Let’s  hope that this administration and the council can come up with what’s needed to keep the city the way it is.

41 thoughts on “The North vs The South..”

  1. Well having lived in the south end for yrs. Now I clearly see the police do not care about the violence n drug dealers n drug doers all around here. We have given up calling n reporting this activity n r looking for a safe home in a safer neighborhood. It was nice wen I first moved here but now w the rental properties around here have brought very bad type of ppl here n we can’t even let our kids play out front. We’ve called police but they don’t get rid of these problem ppl. So we also give up on dbn. Hts. Its like lived in s. W. Detroit around here except we have much higher house payments here expecting we were buying safe happy place for kids to grow up but its outta control here now.

    Like

  2. so now you think it is just okay to come in your yard do they pay your bills no do they need your permission to enter yes they ask your nieghbor for it unless you live in a fort yard you are screwed but hey learn the law there is a recourse out there

    Like

  3. Drove that house today that you were talking about. Looks like a business is being run out of the Home.
    I’m sure that type of business is not allowed in a residential zoned area. Not to mention recreational equipment. That’s not allowed on the front of your house I know for sure. what a eye sore . Those homes use to be so nice.

    Like

  4. I like the recycling bins as a matter of fact I went to the city abought another one.All you do the papers dont blow around is put everything in recycling bags as paper bags and it keeps the papers in with no problems, the same with cans.There is a reason for recycling.

    Like

  5. If they are reading the blog, maybe we could hint at some more trouble spots. What the ordinance told my husband over the summer, is that most warnings are ignored and eventually go to court. They don’t show, or plead financial hardship. A bunch of games. Our neighbor did that for a whole spring, then at the end of summer finally got off there lazy butt cause the landlord was notified . There front yard was fine, the backyard was a jungle. I feel for the ordinance officers, when they have to deal with that.

    Like

  6. Well they should write one up for the guy on ford road across from target with the boats in the front yard and side of house.And the work trucks that dont move.Love to know why this person gets away with this.

    Like

  7. Well the Ordinance Office must have read this blog. They were on Kitch today ( south end – behind justice center) and writing citations. Going from yard to yard and looking at condition of houses and yards – and writing tickets. If you were home they asked permission to go in your yard – if not home – they just went in back and viewed the yards.

    Like

  8. I’m sorry “anxious2”, but I live in a “good” area of Dearborn Heights and would NEVER leave my doors unlocked, windows open, garage door open, etc. There is NO area in Dearborn Heights that is “safe”. Ask those “good old boys in blue” about the crime. It doesn’t matter where you live!

    Like

  9. I was not comparing different neighborhoods in Dearborn Heights. Anonymous was comparing Dearborn Heights to Detroit and was calling our city Detroit Heights. I challenged Anonymous to compare one neighborhood in Dearborn Heights to one like it in Detroit.

    I know things have changed in Dearborn Heights since the 60’s and 70’s. Heck, the whole world has changed and in my opinion not for the best. I don’t live with blinders on but in no way has Dearborn Heights become Detroit……….yet. Lamenting about “the good ole days” is not helping the here and now.

    Anxious 2, I am glad to hear that you are still a part of the Dearborn Heights family.

    Like

  10. In the twenty years I’ve lived here things have changed so much could leave your garage door open during the day so the kids could get there bikes in and out no more unless your sitting in front of it. Could leave front door open in the summer not now unless you can see it to make sure no one is walking in. Same thing here all window shut and locked all doors checked. We never leave the door unlock for even a minute. It’s very sad.

    Like

  11. My Grandparents were one of the first Families to settle in The Southend. My Grandfather passed in 2002 ,My grandmother in 2004, They were terrified of what the neighborhood had become When were were kids we could sleep with the doors open & unlocked in the late 70’s still opened but locked and before they passed it was like a ritual all windows checked all doors triple locked.i can not believe that you People think there is NO difference in the areas of Dearborn Heights.I was raised to voice my opinion and respect evryones views, However I moved to another area of Dearborn Heights I border Taylor,Romulus,Westland & Inkster. I feel Safer HERE then I did on Jackson Street or Mayfair Street. Without the good old boys in blue!!

    Like

  12. Anonymous, what you describe is the exception and not the rule; however, your perception is your reality and nothing I or anyone will say will change your mind. Yes, we also keep our lawn and shrubs cut. Pick up litter that falls on our property and also in the street. This is what is called being a responsible home owner. However, these times call for more on our part. We also have to become more involved to make sure our council meetings are not comedy shows but productive meetings. We cannot just throw our hands in the air and give up and bemoan the fact of how beautiful the city was in the 1960’s (yes, I lived here during the 60’s also). I think this city is worth fighting for.

    Also, when was the last time you took a tour of Detroit. I don’t mean what is shown on tv I am talking about taking a car and riding down the actual streets. We did a couple of months ago and it wasn’t just through one neighborhood either. In no way does any neighborhood in Dearborn Heights look like what I have seen in Detroit. Please give me the name of one neighborhood in Dearborn Heights and compare it to a like neighborhood in Detroit.

    Like

  13. I have my plumber clean my drains every April. I had him out every time I flooded. He said nothing will help until the city cleans their drains . What I am getting is a back splash from the city drain. I bought plastic cartons and do keep most of the things off the floor. It is still a big problem to have to clean up the mess the flooding makes. Having my drains cleaned every year has worked for me until this year. If it happens again, I will join the club and sue the city.

    Like

  14. The stories I heard from my kids too about crestwood they have all graduated now but boy oh boy. The drug problem not just exclusive to south end school nor is crime reading the crime reports says it all. Every city is experiencing the same thing we are not an exception.

    Like

  15. Marge,

    Since it’s apparent you are reading the blog, can you please answer the question posed to you 3 differrent times, on why you changed your vote last May?

    Like

  16. The problems in the schools everywhere.
    I have kids at Crestwood, and they have told me some horrible things they have witnessed there in the past. They have a newer principal, and he seems to be pretty effective.
    Don’t get me started on unkempt homes. It’s rental and homeowners that are the problem. I never understood how anyone could drive up to the place they live, with foot of grass in the front. and not be embarrassed!
    Marge is right about having a presence known in our city would help.

    Like

  17. SORRY SUZANNE I HAVE LIVED SINCE 1962 WHEN THIS CITY WAS A BEAUTFUL PLACE TO LIVE . THE LAST 5 YEARS THIS CITY HAS GONE DOWN HILL. PEOPLE DONT CLEAN UP. THERE HOMES LOOKS LIKE DETROIT OVER GROWEN SHURBS YOU CANT SEE THE FRONT WINDOW, GRASS NOT CUT,WEEEDS ALL OVERTHERE GRASS. GUTTERS FALLEN OFF OF HOUSE LOOK AROUND. PEOPLE DONT TAKE TIME TO CLEAN UP THERE HOME.AND WINTER TIME WHEN THE STREETS GET PLOWED THEY THROW THERE SNOW BACK INTO THE PLOWED STREET.SO DONT TELL ME TO GET OFF MY BUTT AND JOIN A GROUP .I CUT MY GRASS AND SHRUBS I DID TAKE PRIDE IN THIS CITY. BUT ITS LOOKING LIKE DETROIT SORRY YOU BETTER WAKE UP.BREAKEN ARE UP THEY TRIED TO GET INTO MY BACK ROOM BUT MY DOG SCARED THEM AWAY MY SCREEN WAS OUT AND WINDOW WAS BROKEN. ITS ALL OVER THE CITY. I DID GO TO COUNCIL MEETING. BUT NOW ITS LIKE WATCHING A COMEDY SHOW NOTHING GETS DONE.WELCOME TO THE NEW DETROIT HEIGHTS NOTHING GOING TO CHANGE SORRY.

    Like

  18. I have a bigger problem with the recycle bins than garbage bags. On a windy day paper flies all over the neighborhood. Most of the people on the block have stopped using them because of litter problem. We already have to many rules on garbage cans. Size, weight no wheels etc. I use bags. If they are closed tightly it is rare a critter gets in them. To say nothing about the cans sitting by the street for days.

    Like

  19. Have you had your drain tyles checked, a sump pump and a chut down valve.We have put alot of money into this but it does work so far. I have found that the basement is not meant to live in so we use it for storage and keep everything on tables off the floors.It,s not what I wanted but at least now I don’t have to worrie so much.Just a thought.

    Like

  20. When the school was sold, and the city made the property commercial they were not prepared for drainage or electrical necessities. As soon as Target and the heights center were built flooding was everywhere. They soon came through putting in alot of drainage pipes. That took care of the shopping center flooding problems. The residents still experience flooding problems. The post office parking lot is a swimming pool after a big rain. Proper drainage still is not available.
    Not enough electricity was allotted to the area. It took years to get the electrical problem fixed. The city planners did not have enough foresight to deal with the problems of a growing city. I am glad the catch basins helped some of the residents but sadly for me I live with the constant threat of four or more inches of water in the basement every time it rains.
    Money has to be in the budget to clean the drains, fix the streets, the whole city has to be maintained. Hopefully someone will come to their senses and make that happen.

    Like

  21. We put our garbage out in bags instead of cans also. The trick to keep the critters out is to sprinkle some ammonia over the garbage before you close the bag. We put our garbage out at night and only have problems when we forget the ammonia. Council chair Ken Baron gave that tip at a council meeting several years ago.

    I also want to comment on the perception that the south end is Detroit Heights. While I don’t live with blinders on, it is in no way anything like Detroit, with much thanks going to our police department and concerned citizens. Every city, I repete, every city has the same problems with crimes and drugs as we do. If you think moving to another city is going to solve your problems you are sadly mistaken.

    The problem is that some people sit on their butts and complain and put the city down. Try joining the Dearborn Heights CERT (Community Emergency Response Team) or be part of the Crime Watch in your neighborhood. Go to council meetings. Be a part of the change you would like to see in your neighborhood instead of just whining about the problems.

    Like

  22. Anxious 2. Well you made my day. I am still laughing. You read the blog. Thanks for the vote of confidence but no thanks.

    Like

  23. I do not understand How people think there is no difference. Drugs are everywhere, in every school,and every street corner. Rental Properties are everywhere But I am not wrong as a landlord to some homes in the Southend ( it is my job) We do not discriminate. We have to rent to anyone who checks out. I cant tell you how many thousands of Dollars my boss has put into these homes.There is now and always been a difference in the cities responses to certain areas of this City. Because of how our City has been managed by Elected Officials, it has gone downhill on a rapid roll with no hope of looking up!! We need new elected officals who care?? @ Marge ever think of running for Mayor? You would do a much better job than the one we have now!!

    Like

  24. Since I have asthma, I put my garbage out in bags so I don’t have to walk down to the street again to retrieve an empty can. I’d be VERY unhappy if an ordinance forced me to walk down to the street twice.

    Since the critters that get into garbage are nocturnal, the solution to the critter problem is to put the garbage out in the morning after the sun comes up.

    Like

  25. Quite franky I don’t know if I live in the north end or the south end and really don’t care much. As to rental properties, we have several in my neighborhood and I gotta tell you that some of these renters take better care of the property than the people who own homes in the neighborhood. I make sure I keep my eyes open and if I see anything that I question or know is something the Building Department can address, I make sure to send them an e-mail. They have never failed to follow through.

    Like

  26. WHAT YOU HAVE SAID IS TRUE. WALKING THROUGH THE CITY DOES NOT SHOW YOU EVERYTHING LIVING IN IT DOES.TEENS JUMPING INTO YOUR YARDS FOR SHORT CUT,DRUG DEALS GOING ON,SPEEDING AN GOING THROUGH STOP SIGNS AND GIVING YOU THE FINGER IF YOU ASK THEM TO MOVE WHEN THEY IN THE STREET DOING THEIR DEALS.YES I AM ASHAMED OF WHAT IT HAS BECOME.

    Like

  27. Anxious, good suggestion. I will work on it in the upcoming council sessions. Actually we have the same problems here in the North end. Never thought of an ordinance. Don’t know if we can do it but I will certainly give it a try.

    Marty – Wow did you never go beyond Ford Rd.? Let me tell you something Mr. I am at Annapolis HS 3/4 time a month. I am involved with a number of kids and I love working with them. They are hard working, polite and interested in what you have to say to them. Who told you crime is up in those schools? And you think Crestwood is pristine? As for rental property. It is all over the City. I have four vacant homes on my block alone. As I said earlier, it saddens me to know what our citizens don’t know about our City.

    Like

  28. Marty

    Embarrassed that you did not know there was another part of Dearborn Heights I hope.. Listen I walked the south end during two different elections. I only found one area that I was troubled by. I found the homes well kept and very clean there are some yes that are not taken care of but that is on the north end too. For the most part the areas I walked in were great.. I loved the homes and all the tree lined streets..
    You talk of rebels I did not meet one person that resembles the type of person you are talking about.. I would not call a senior living in one of the cutest homes I’ve ever seen a rebel.. She had two house to the right of here empty the house on the left empty and the house across the street from her empty. All foreclosed homes she said that she picks up what she can around the empty homes and makes sure hers stays clean.. This was no rebel she was a kind and very concerned resident. I enjoyed walking the south end I loved seeing what everyone was doing with their properties all the beautiful flowers.
    Just because there is a rental home doesn’t say that they are all junkies or welfare recipients. My neighborhood has many rental properties I do not see junkies in them.. Do you have any numbers to prove that crime is up on the south end or is it up everyplace in Dearborn Heights just like all the other city’s around us.. I would appreciate any documentation you have to what you claim is happening at the schools on the south end.

    Like

  29. I wonder if anyone else has this problem on their street oe neighbourhood.Some people who rent have no garbage cans and just put their garbage out in bags and the ckritters go into these bags for what ever is in them,food I guess so everything is on the ground and when the garbage men pick up there is always some left on the ground and that stays never disposed off by the tenants.This part of town is full of renters and this is how it has become.The city needs to get new ordinances made up for this kind of problems.I am trying to sell my house and can’t because the looks of this part of the city is awfull.There is not a problem with flooding in the houses anymore just the streets and to me not a big deal, but this disgusting site is the problem and the ordinance officer does nothing when he is called, and now higher taxes!!!!!!!!

    Like

  30. Thank you for letting us know some history on our city. That happened way before my time. It gives me some insight.

    Like

  31. Most of us growing up in the north end never knew the southend existed. When we grew up and found out, we were embarassed. I always said I lived in North Dearborn Heights when someone asked. The south end has always been for the rebels.
    Now things are even worst. The school Districts are both schools of choice and are full of thugs that have been kicked out of Detroit Public Schools. Crime in the schools is up thanks to the Detroiters and the neighborhoods are way down and in trouble. There is nothing but rental homes filled with junkies and wellfare recipients. No one takes care of anything. It is Detroit Heights! Thanks BIG DOG for coming up with the title-it fits!

    Like

  32. As a resident of south Dearborn Heights for 47 years I think the record needs to be set straight.

    The Canfield Center in the north was built long before the Young Center.

    The only fire department station was located in the north end and it wasn’t until many years later the south end got the new one built on Annapolis and Telegraph.

    The south end had a small police station located on the Ecorse Creek and Telegraph but that was demolished several years ago.

    The flooding in the south end was ignored since the 1960’s. I’m not talking about street flooding or a few inches of water in the basement. I am talking about complete basements filling up with water to the landing. Sure some sewers were re-lined but that was it. However, when the north started getting hit with flooding, within a 10 year span retention basins were being built to help control it.

    Now they are going to close the Eton Center part-time and leave the Berwyn Center open full-time.

    I don’t give a rat’s rump about who has nicer houses and never have. I have always enjoyed my south end neighborhood. It just at times like these that being the step-sister to the north end does wear thin.

    Like

  33. I truly believe you have blinders on. I grew up in the South End it was ok back 30 years ago, You can not tell me there is not a difference!! Like it or not there is, Not housing but The People It has been turned into Rental Town. Where it attracts all the low class dwellers, of drug dealers etc. It is very unsafe and very FORGOTTEN!!! You need to take of the blinders you are wearing!!

    Like

  34. I agree. When my kids were in the summer camp, its only at the Richard A Young center.
    I live in the north end. Great program though. The drive was a pain.
    It would have been great if we had a centralized recreation center, for the city.
    Tifa money spent on the justice center (that is too much wasted space), could have been a great spot for a rec center for us. Or the incinerator property. Oh, didn’t mayor have some shovel ready project for this city for something like this?

    I know alot of people will say that having the Hype center off Warren rd is going to provide those activities, I will tell you we will never go there.
    Plus that project is on hold because the FBI is involved in that investigation, cause its involvement with contractors and illegal kick backs.

    Like

Leave a Reply

