Someone Doesn’t Play Well With Others..

Well the Mayor decided because he wasn’t going to get his way (for once) he took his toys and left the sand box. That’s right Mr. Mayor and when you can play well with others you can come back and play with us.. To the council members that did not give in to the Mayor thank you, thank you so much.. It say’s so much of how things are finally starting to change around here.

Well from what I understand the city is looking into closing the Eton center and busing seniors to Berwyn center. Canfield to close during the day and open at night for the night-time activities. One part-time worker will be let go, early outs offered again, but no agreement reached for the Department heads. The mayor wanted to give them 3 years and have them buy 3 and then hire the ones who take the early out  back part-time.

I would like to thank Lisa F and another person blogging here. I would like to thank them for going to the meeting and letting us all know what happened. Lisa F has a point about the waste of time discussing things that they have no numbers on. Move on come back to it when you get the answers.  From everything I’m hearing the Mayors plan been described as a sham, unobtainable, unrealistic, a lie, Bull S*^&, not even close, a waste of time, and more. Again no details a lot of crossing his fingers and hoping well maybe that will work. What will not work is walking away because the council did not allow you to bulldozer them..

 

48 thoughts on “Someone Doesn’t Play Well With Others..”

  1. I am so tired of listening to walter cry and whine. He thought he knew everything and he was so experienced he didn’t need Judy any more , so now he says he needs help. Well , you had help Walter but you decided to be a know it all. You are on your own. It looks like you burnt a few to many bridges. Instead of passing out your coffee and doughnuts you should have been paying attention to what Judy was trying to teach you…. my advice to you is…Don’t shoot off your mouth until your brain is loaded… you have been shooting blanks.

    Yours truley
    Linda Butler

    Like

  2. Truth

    Your joking right no he is not my buddy. Yes I heard what happened the night of the tree lighting ceremony at city hall and more. No I’m not going to write about it the clerk was supported by the Mayor and most of city hall and 99.9% of department heads. They have the person they supported over there. If he is creating problems internally that is the problem for the MATT to take care of.

    Do I think what he did that night was uncalled for sure I do did it have any in-pack on me as a taxpayer no. That’s one reason I say nothing. The other reason is the last time I tried to write about him here an email was sent to council members and a threat of getting corporation counsel involved. I don’t know about you, but I do not want the city to spend money on going after me and the blog. The city has enough problems.

    Like

  3. There is someone else over at city all who doesn’t play well with others why don’t you write about him. The new clerk you never say a word on this blog about him. Why is that Kathy is he one of your buds one more over at city hall that you won’t allowe anyone to say any thing about. That’s not right if your going to call this the truth page then tell the truth. The man since he’s gotten elected is on a mission to prove to everyone that he is the King of his domain.
    If you haven’t heard the stories hard to believe you haven’t ask about the night of the tree lighting. Just take a listen to what he did on such a beautiful night. There is more, but because he is your good buddy I’m sure you won’t even post this much about him. I’ll wait and see before I say more.

    Like

  4. I was going to say – sorry for being so negative but thought better of that. I just think I’m being realistic. I’m not ready to jump on the bandwagon for the council yet. Just because they didn’t vote for the mayor’s ideas is just an “inkling” that they may finally realize they have to do the job we elected them to do. Let’s just wait and see.

    Like

  5. She has not told the taxpayers WHY she changed her vote back in May behind closed doors. That saddens me.I dont trust her.

    Like

  6. Its not possible for us to know what’s going on, if the mayor is doing
    Closed door deals. I try to keep up the details of the city, but you have to admit, unless your a fly on the wall witnessing the closed door crap, we’ll never know.
    Just like a resident asked, why did marge change her vote? What was said Behind that closed door?

    Like

  7. Marge

    Exactly what clues are we the “residents” missing? Why don’t you enlighten us? I’m sure we would all really appreciate it. While you’re at it, please explain why you changed your vote last May, as asked by another blogger. We would love to have a “clue” about that….

    Like

  8. Quite frankly, I don’t care which it is. We can’t afford to do either. Closing one center is the answer and getting all the seniors to go to one center is how it should be and how it should have been all along. I don’t know why one city has to have two senior centers. The north end, the south end – who cares? Since Eton needs repairs, that’s the one that should be closed. If all the seniors have to go to one center, they’ll learn to get along.

    Like

  9. Replace = money. Repair = money. The city does not have any extra money for repairs OR replacement. Who is assuming?

    Like

  10. I was there that night and yes this man was hand picked by the mayor and Liz to run for city council not this election the one before. Those of us sitting there that night knew who he was and why he was there. Not one of us thought he was there for any other reason then the mayor asked him to do so. I felt very insulted to be lectured at by this man and Ray who I was sitting next to was angry because what Jim was saying was a shot at him.

    I wrote about this when it happened I was so angry that again the mayor wants to play us for fools. He was telling all of us shame on us for asking the city to do anything for us. What more do we want from the mayor and he’s doing such a great job and blah, blah, blah. The part he left out was that he cost the NSP program 60k when he tried to get NSP funds to buy a house for his association and did not file the proper paper work. The money wasn’t rolled back into the program.

    That’s the behind closed doors crap that Ray is talking about.

    Like

  11. No problem I did not know the pool was open to the public and felt I should explain why. I do thank you and big dog for putting up the info it’s good to know. One thing I want everyone to know the senior center on the north end does not have a pool.

    I would like some of you to please tell me what is going on between the north and south end of town. Over the years I heard things, but never realized the divide was so bad until I stated walking door to door both times I ran. I would really like to know when it started and what else the south end has had taken away.

    Like

  12. Suzanne, you are right whe you say I shoot my mouth off before I think. I have been told that many times and I will try not to do that again. As far as Jim, and how he thinks the city looks so great.He has lived here for what, maybe 5-10 years. Well where he came from it may look great but I remember how this city looked before that. He said it cost money to keep the city clean, no it does not. Each one of us needs to do our part and that cost nothing. I don’t ask the city for anything just to enforce the laws already on the books. I said he came looking for a job and that is the truth, he was hand picked by the mayor and Liz to be another yes vote for the mayor. There are only 2 council members who have stood up to the mayor the last few years and that lets him get away with everything he wants. I guess that is what makes me shoot from the hip when I see waht goes on and can’t see what goes on behind closed doors. But I thank you for your post and I will still try to do better going on.Hope to see you at the council meetings.

    Like

  13. Sorry, Kathy. The ASS in assume wasn’t intended for the Crestwood pool post. I meant overall in the city, residents are clueless. Sorry you took that as directed towards you. 99% of your information is good, accurate and if not, you correct it. Sorry for the missunderstanding.

    Like

  14. BIGDOG

    Sorry, but I just don’t understand why Marge Horvath being on the council saddens you she was one of the only council members who said that the Eton Center was being looked at for closure. I see a change with council in the way they are dealing with the Mayor it’s a sign of things to come..

    Like

  15. The last time that I had anything to do with the pool over at Crestwood was when my daughter was on the swim team. At that time they did not have the pool open to the public except for little kids to take swimming lessons. I asked when my kids took lessons there if adults could come and swim. I was told that it was not open for that. Now this was years ago and I admit that I have not taken an interest to find out if the pool has since opened up to the public. I ASSumed as you all so nicely put it that they still had the same thing going on. Sorry that I do not go to the Creastwood website I try my best to stay as far away from that school district and school board as possible. I would apologizes for not knowing this information if I thought it was such a bad thing that I did not know it. For the record why would I if me or anyone else was not looking for such a service we would have no reason to know it. At any rate sorry you are saddened.

    Like

  16. Crestwood does indeed have open swimming sessions. It may cost money (much like Dearborn’s Levagood), but there is a pool for public use!

    Like

  17. Thank you, Marge. I have said it before that people post things that they just don’t know about. People REALLY need to educate themselves before ASSuming and posting things!!!

    Like

  18. IT SADENS ME YOUR STILL ON THE COUNCIL. SOUTH END TAXPAYER. YOU ALL MAKE DEARBORN HEIGHTS LOOK LIKE AND ACT LIKE DETROIT HEIGHTS.MAYOR AND COUNCIL.

    Like

  19. I attended both meetings. The fact that one or both senior centers might be closing was plainly stated. However, due to past history ( I have lived in the south end for over 47 years), everyone at the south end meeting knew that if one senior center was to be closed it would be Eton. Although I am a senior citizen I agree that keeping two open is a waste of money – just why does it always have to be the south end that takes the hit?

    Regarding Ray and Councilmen Berry. Ray is a good man and a loyal Dearborn Heights citizen but he does have a tendency to shoot off his mouth before thinking. I was witness to one such incident when he accused another resident, Jim, of wanting a job on the city council because he didn’t like what Jim had to say. There is no excuse for Berry’s response and as a council member should have kept his cool and taken the higher ground.

    I think its time for everyone to be more respectful to other people holding or voicing an opinion that is contrary to your own. Cursing and threatening whether it be from council or a resident should cease. History shows us that there was a lot of debate and discussion when the Declaration of Independence was written. Try to imagine what our life would be like now if those men had reverted to cursing and threatening to fight each other.

    Suzanne

    Like

  20. I also have to say, Joe, that with the economy the way it is, it just doesn’t make sense to have 2 senior centers when one will do nicely. Besides which, I agree with Kathy in that I don’t remember them saying they would keep Eton open. Eton needs too much repair and that’s not what we should be spending our money on now, especially since we don’t own it. I believe I read where they agreed to bus you to the other center which is pretty generous of them. Everyone has to make concessions and that includes the seniors.

    Like

  21. Jo

    I was at the south end town hall meeting and heard them say very clearly that they were looking at closing that center. I heard a couple say the same thing at council meetings leading up to the vote. To my understanding the north end does not have a pool I’m sorry to say there is not one pool in the city for any of us to go to.

    The south end does have Richard Young center that is a far better facility to any thing you will find on the north end. I think it’s amazing that the city will keep a recreation department at all. The override was never going to cover all that was needed. They said that all along.

    Like

  22. So when we were told by the city council that if we helped pass the headlee override they would NOT close the ETON center! you all lied! so you are treating the south end once again as the slums of dearborn heights! remeber we will not forget when you come asking for our help next election when you need our vote or our help.The north end has a pool at thier faciltity we in the south do not and now no more senior center liars!!!

    Like

  23. I think he meant the behavior at the council meetings with council was embarrassing. Magnus in the past has said in previous posts, that they don’t like the attm or her behavior either. I have never had respect for Berry. He seems a bit arrogant.

    Like

  24. TO ALL OF YOU MERRY CHRISTMAS AND A HAPPY NEW YEAR. JUST LIKE I SAID WELCOME TO DETROIT HEIGHTS. WERE LOOKING AND ACTING LIKE DETROIT MORE AND MORE.

    Like

  25. Hey Ray

    Hope you and your family are well we wish you all a very Merry Christmas.. I wasn’t sure that was the fight bitsy was talking about thanks for letting us know what happened.

    Like

  26. I want to clear this up as best as I can. I said the f word (in what I thought was in a low voice) leaving council chambers a few meetings ago directed at someone else, I was wrong in doing so as there were some boy scouts near by. But Tom with all of his wisdom started to shout from the top of his lungs, “Shame on you” and proceeded to follow me outside where I became a mother-f_ _ _ker, a tough guy and told me to kiss his ass. I told him where do I start since he was all ass. He pointed to his crotch and wanted to see me at my neighbors house. I was wrong in what I said at the start of this, but his reactions were just as bad and shameful of the position that he holds. He brought up the fact that I was mad because Katy and Janet lost in the election that just passed. He also wanted to know why I don’t run for city council, as he thinks I am scared to lose. I don’t run because I can not give 100% of my time to be good at it. I try to do everything I do at 100% or I wont do it. I am NOT out looking for a fight, but make no mistake about it, I WILL DEFEND MYSELF AND MY FAMILY IF NEED BE. I will lose ALL respect for Tom if he doesn’t come clean with this as I have.

    Like

  27. I agree about Berry resigning. Either that or he’s asked to leave. Can you imagine if he runs for Mayor? But I have to ask Magnus – GETTING embarassing? The Mayor’s assistant alone is embarassing. But more to the point – the whole thing is shameful. Shameful that our mayor hired her in the first place and against everyone’s recommendation has chosen to keep her on, shameful that he’s lied about the budget for the last few years and shameful that our council has allowed him to get away with all this without some form of consequences applied. If our council is finally stepping up, let me say – IT’S ABOUT DAMN TIME! Let’s hope they at least have turned over a new leaf. We sure know our mayor hasn’t.

    Like

  28. Looks like Tom Berry is taking after the Mayor with threats and yelling.
    Berry should resign after making a threat like that to a tax paying citizen.

    Most people who watch or go to the city council know that Ray cares for this city and like many others are sick of this Mayor and certain council members and their inability to get this city back on track.

    This city council and administration are starting to resemble Detroit when Kwami was in charge…name calling…threats …incompetent leadership…affairs…this is getting embarassing!

    Like

  29. I was told that Tom Berry has relatives or friends that live next to Ray. After the meeting, Tom had words with Ray and told him that the next time he was at Ray’s neighbor’s house, he was going to kick his ass. Ray said – why wait? Let’s do it now. Lee Gavin stepped in and stopped it.

    Like

  30. Yay!! Waahooo! My Council! Hugs to each of you who stood up to the mayor’s power of invention, the illusions he submits, and let him take his balls and go home, or should I say “toys”…Keep up the good work, my Council! There are so many of us who appreciate you!

    Like

  31. You mean the Big Wuss got up and walked out again!!!?

    Does he think that’s impressing anyone?

    What leadership!

    Like

  32. As a tax payer of Dearborn Heights, I feel that I have the right to know who the council person was that verbally attacked and threatened the citizen with bodily harm, and also the name of the other council person who threatened them on-line. Could you please post their names as I didn’t attend the council meeting but may find myself being forced to go to witness what goes on there.

    Since I do vote in every election, I want to know who the bullies of the DH City Council are so that I DO NOT CAST MY VOTE FOR THEM. Yikes, what is up with council members treating taxpayers in such a fashion. There is NO reason whatsoever for that kind of treatment.

    If they want to bully somebody, have them bully the Mayor into doing his job and being honest and straight forward with the members of the council and the community. When does Paletko’s term end?

    Like

  33. bitsy08

    He left the meeting because they did not agree with what he was trying to sell them.. They do have an obligation to understand how he is going to get the savings. He gave no details just wanted them to vote blind how can you vote in favor of something you do not have all the information on.. He has come to expect a different reaction in the past it’s worked not this time.

    Like

  34. And what I don’t understand is why a council member verbally attacked one of the citizens leaving the meeting and then threatened bodily harm. And, too, another attacking that same citizen on-line. As far as I’m concerned, at least the first incident should be an actionable offense. ALL citizens should be able to voice their opinions, whether it be loud or anything else at the council meetings without fear of retribution. So now, what is this about the Mayor? Did he leave the meeting because the council criticized him? Isn’t that their job? FINALLY? I guess, Mr. Mayor, you’ve come to expect a different reaction from the council. You were disappointed? TOO BAD. Now you know how we feel.

    Like

Leave a Reply

