If You Did Not Catch the Story on Fox 2

Catch the Story on Fox 2 Detroit

14 thoughts on “If You Did Not Catch the Story on Fox 2”

  1. Private

    I’ve been a resident for over 25 years, so what if the taxes are going to be lower then what they were 5 years ago? They should be our homes were valued more 5 years ago, we had better jobs and better pay and we could afford to buy a new fence for our yard, plant new flowers, pay the kid down the street to tend to our weeds and cut the grass!

    I do however hold the mayor completely responsible for ever bit of this. He lied even up to 2 months ago stating his budget and his numbers were solid!! You can’t tell me he didn’t know things were this bad!! He waited to tell us. So what?? If he was honest he could have made way many cuts other then to his employees over the years and then things would have not been too bad! Fact is, if you look over the city budget I see many things I would have cut before I would have done this to the employees that supported my efforts to keep the budget at its lowest. Many things could have happened BEFORE it came to this point and time!!! I’m holding NO in my vote, unless the mayor is recalled, or resigned, but until he is out I don’t see hope for future change only future lies and deception! If you want my yes vote get out of my city mayor!

    Like

  2. HOPE EVERYONE VOTES NO NO NO NO NO NO ON NOVEMBER 8 DON’T LET THE MAYOR SCARE YOU . HE TOLD THE PUBLIC HE HAD A BALANCE BUDGET .WHAT IS HE GOING TO USE THE MONEY HE GETS. BUY A NEW CAR .GET A NEW PHONE HIRE ANOTHER SECRETARY.HE DOESN’T OWN A HOUSE IN DEARBORN HEIGHTS. THE MAYOR VOTE NO

    Like

  3. Outsourcing? Like where? To India? I will vote YES in November because I don’t want this city to turn into the garbage that I’m already beginning to see. I’m afraid that somehow people think that the millage money will be going directly into the mayor’s pocket. And if you really do your homework, you will see the the majority of the city employees are city residents. So, I really don’t know where your facts are coming from. Please research!

    Like

  4. FISRT THE MAYOR RENTS A HOUSE NO TAXES. HE SAID THE PEOPLE THAT GO TO TRAFFIC COURT DONT HAVE MONEY TO PAY THERE TICKETS. SO IF THE THE VOTE IN NOVEMBER GOES THRU AND PEOPLE ARE ON FIXED INCOME HOW IS THE CITY GOING TO GET THERE TAX MONEY.SO THE CITY SHOULD START OUTSOURCEING JOBS.LOT OF PEOPLE LOOKING FOR WORK.LOT OF PEOPLE THAT WORK IN DBN HGTS DONT LIVE HERE AND DONT PAY TAXES AND DONT CARE ABOUT DBN. HGTS. SO I WILL VOTE NO IN NOVERBER.

    Like

  5. And some of will NOT be able to live on what we are going to be making. Doing more and more for so much less. We can only do and take so much. The service that you want is going to be diminished by workers that don’t even care to be there anymore. They can’t keep up with their work as it is now. Someone posted a scinero on here somewhere and they were blasted by someone saying that was extreme or whatever. Well, I guess you will have to wait and see. I’ve seen morale plummet. And it’s only going to get worse when the cuts are implemented. I guarantee Joe Public is not going to like the changes either.

    Like

  6. Private:
    Just for clarification, the fire department does not get 7 years in the DROP as the police department does. They get 5 years and you are correct, it is their money.

    Like

  7. Private

    I understand that it is his money only reporting what was said at the council meeting.. Your ideas are good ones and as I posted here there is no way the city can cut it’s way out of what we are in now, that is a fact, but I all so believe that we the taxpayers should know where the money is going to be spent before we just offer it up on a silver platter. I feel that we should not be giving it to him with out total transparency, as to how we got here and why something was not done much sooner.. There were many ideas offered over the past few years by council members that would have put us in a much better position. If he would have worked with them instead of blocking them out of everything I and many, many others not only on this blog but people I talk with think we would be better off. As for a loss of 20% my business is down more than that and we are making it I am sure I am not the only business down by 20% and surviving.

    Like

  8. drheights18127,

    I hold the mayor and the council at fault for a lot of the cities issues, but they could only make so many cuts. I believe more cuts could be made such as eliminating the parks deputy director position, cutting back on the number of firefighters in supervisor ranks, charging to use the water park, and maybe making the assistant mayor a part time position. Unlike most of the people on the blog I understand that the mayor and council could only do so much before the economy took it toll on our city and I am willing to take a tax hit to keep our services. Even with a tax hit of 3% my taxes are still lower then they were 5 years ago.
    From what I have read and heard the 114k pension belongs to the Chief. The 800k lump sum payout will be taxed and that is just his money being held in the pension system earning the pension interest because he choose to stay those extra 7 years. It is not like he is getting free money he would have collected if he left for those 7 years. The firefighters are getting the same benefit.

    Like

  9. Private

    Was just wondering do you hold the Mayor responsible for anything that has happened? No doubt the problem was cause by the State and Federal Government however the Mayor did see this coming as he hinted to many times at council meetings. Yet he was not proactive in dealing with it.

    Like

  10. Private

    You are right do not know what I was thinking I went back over my post and found this,

    He reveled that one officer with a base salary of 96,325 will have 7 years in DROP will be getting a pension of 114,739.00 a year, and walk out with a lump sum of $800,00.00 from DROP. That is from this blog post https://dearbornheights.wordpress.com/2010/11/12/how-are-we-going-to-pay-for-it/ and yes I did confirm that these number are for the chief of police..

    Like

  11. drheights18127,

    You need to do better homework before you make a post. It is public record and the police chief is not earning anywhere close to 180k per year in retirement.

    Anonymous,
    So what if the mayor is earning a pension from Ford and the City of Dearborn Heights…he earned his pension from Ford and should not be punished for that and we are the one’s that elected him into council and the mayors office. He has served over 25 years with the city. Past mayors have collected and are still collecting pensions from the city.

    No matter what my feelings are toward the mayor or the council and no matter who was in office the city would still be in trouble and I will not let that effect my yes vote in November. The problem was caused by the State, Federal Government and banks. The city has lost a lot of money and I know I would not be able to survive if I lost 20% of my pay.

    Like

  12. Anonymous

    Oh I posted that information months ago when it was presented to the council because our treasure was so concerned about the numbers and let’s not forget the overtime that was given for giving out tickets for years that they rolled in there too.. He get’s close to 114k a year when he retires more than he is making with us now.

    Like

  13. And now it starts. Scare the old people because they vote. The police chief says they will cut the police to four at night. If that is the first thing he and the mayor can do they should both be fired. You should see what that police chief will get when he retires. Better yet ask the question and post it.

    The mayor will get no sympathy from me. In addition to his excellent Ford pension, he will be able to collect a city pension for all that time he was on the council plus his time as mayor. I don’t think he owns property in the city any longer. If I am wrong, I will apologize.

    Anyone who thinks the city needs more money before they make changes and other cuts should write a check to the city or contribute to help pay for the services they use. You don’t want to give up anything? Then don’t ask people who don’t have anything to pay for it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

