Bring Out The Wind Up Toy Right On Cue..

super frog
Image by massdistraction via Flickr

There is nothing wrong with being supportive of your city I think I can say that almost all of us are proud to live in Dearborn Heights. I can say that all of us want the best for the city and ourselves. Then there are those who feel the need to stand in a council meeting and right on cue start yelling at all of us in the city.. Yes Mr. Lynch right on cue you come up and begin to lecture all of us how inept we are for asking the city to enforce the city ordinance to keep our city looking good.  Well I did not ask my city to fork out $80,000.00 in NSP money as you did. To establish a community center. The proper paper work was not filed for a nonprofit organization, and the city had to give up $80,000.00 from the NSP Grant.

While you get up, to  lecture us about how we are asking and expecting too much from the city. Like we are a bunch of lazy good for nothing’s waiting for hand outs, we have not cost the city anything. You forget Mr. Lynch that all of us as taxpayers have a contract with the city of Dearborn Heights when we pay our property taxes we are guaranteed under the charter certain things.. I would ask that you go to the charter and find out just what we are guaranteed. Further more when the council passes an ordinance that the ordinance must be enforced why else make it. You are entitled to your opinion, and you are entitled to support the Mayor. You owe him, and you should be loyal to him, but unlike you, many of us out here have not had, “cart blanch” with the Mayor’s office as you have. You have done a remarkably admirable thing in your neighborhood, and no one can minimize that.   While you may have the right to your opinion, you do not have the right to presume, assume, or generalize the rest of us.

Mr. Lynch do not presume to know who I am or who for the most part, the people living in this city are. We work damn hard for every penny we bring home. My husband works seven days a week I work five days a week we have 3 children in college and or university not one penny of their tuition comes from any government assistant. Not that you can find any these days even if you wanted it. For those who need assistants from their government.
No reason for you to make them feel  they are doing something wrong by asking for help. The story is not uncommon for most people these days trying to make a living. How many I have talked with in this city who are working two jobs to make (ends meat). I am sure Mr. Lynch you work exceptionally hard at what ever you do for a living.  A little respect Mr. Lynch to your fellow residents and a little tolerance for others view-point will go a long way in making things a lot easier for what is sure to be a heated debate over the Headlee Override.

15 thoughts on “Bring Out The Wind Up Toy Right On Cue..”

  1. Big Dog – I too have lived here since the 60’s and I agree the mayor needs to go but voting no will hurt the city even more. Think about the city’s future, not his. He’s on his way out the door to leave the rest of us with his mess.

    Like

  2. YES MR. JONES I HAVE BEEN HERE SINCE 1965 TO SEE TIS CITY GO INTO THE SHIT HOLE IT IS. THE MAYOR NEEDS TO GO. HE HIRES PEOPLE THAT DONT NO WHAT THE HELL THEY ARE DOING.HIS ASSISTANT NEEDS TO GO. SO YES VOTE NO . NO THE MAYOR IS HURTING THE TAXPAYERS.

    Like

  3. So just to spite the mayor you would like everyone to vote no? If that’s the case, I hope you are ready to see this city go down the tubes (more than it has already!) This city is not what it once was and if residents continue to vote no just to show the mayor what you think of him, you are only hurting yourselves. How foolish!

    Like

  4. Just for clarification, Rose, the fireman is not the one that talked about overturning proposal A. I believe he was from the DPW.

    Like

  5. When Mr Lynch attends city council meetings, he is there supporting the mayor (his choice). He was asked to run for city council by the mayor and a few of the mayors friends for only one thing, ANOTHER YES VOTE FOR THE MAYOR. I said it when he was running and will still say it. HE HAS LIVED IN THIS CITY FOR WHAT 10 YEARS, I have been here since 1967. I know what this city was and should be. We never have had the crime and filth that we have now. I don’t care what it cost to keep the city clean but it already has been paid for through our tax’s.

    Like

  6. WAKE UP DEARBORN HEIGHTS TAXPAYERS VOTE NO NOVEMBER 8 THE MAYOR AND COUNCIL SHOULD HAVE CUT OUT A LOT OF SPENDING YEARS AGO.THEY WASTED A LOT OF MONEY ON WHAT. CARS ,PHONES , HIS ASSISTANT, ETC. IF THE HEADLEE OVERRIDE PASSES IT GOING TO GIVE THE MAYOR MORE MONEY TO SPEND ON BULL SHIT IN THIS CITY. LIKE I KEEP SAYING WELCOME TO DETROIT HEIGHTS.

    Like

  7. I disagree with you on a number of issues but I think I like and respect you more every day. People have the right to disagree. They have a right to work for what they believe. I am, however, sick and tired of people telling me what I should think and do. Try convincing me with the whole truth.

    I am definitely, tired of people making comments without facts but pretending they have them. I am sick and tired of elected officials saying I didn’t know because they didn’t look or ask. I am sick of some public employees telling me how wonderful they are, while denigrating the rest of us. Please notice I used the word some. We have many hard working employees in this city who are not pompous, lazy and self serving.

    Spare me the drama when stating your positions, I reserve that right. That is unless you can pull it off convincingly. As far as the fireman who wanted to change the state constitution at the council meeting – go for it. You will have plenty of work to do. I have only spent 30 years plus defending the Headlee Amendment and I have a few good years left. As for Proposal A I might help you with that one. When it eliminated uniformity in taxation, it placed taxpayer against taxpayer and young against the old. It would have been more equitable to just reduce the percent of state equalized value (SEV). But the purpose of all that complicated enabling legislation was to make it complicated. I worked as hard as I could against Proposal A, Including debating the State Superintendent of Education on radio. You win some you lose some.

    Please folks, hold their feet to the fire before before you vote to overide Headlee. If there are any facts I can provide you, please contact me. There is a wealth of information resources available on my website under “Keeping Informed” http://www.wctaxpayers.org. Please do your homework.

    Like

  8. I can’t help but to wonder…now the mayor is threatening pay cut and less working days to the very employees his assistant asked in their negotiations to give up positions, to cut their medical cost, not to have any increases, to come to work and pick up the responsibilities of those jobs that were illuminated…I wonder why has he not done the same? Let him loose the help in his office make him do the work he should have been doing! I wonder now that he has threatened your jobs why you would even consider giving him his HO he has not made any of the sacrifices of the city employee so why do you continue to bend when he doesn’t? He seems to know that his employees would want this passed especially if they can keep their jobs but at what cost? This HO will cause me and many more into foreclosure, I have struggled to keep my house why should I lose it now? The mayor could have stopped this 2 years ago and didn’t but yet he fights to keep cars and spend on drinking faucets..I just don’t see the reasoning. If I know that I will be losing my income in the future I would prepare for it, I would cut my spending and watch how every penny is spent…especially if I knew if I didn’t I would be in this same position the city is in now. He did not and does not really care what happens to any of us as long as he gets to keep what he wants!

    Like

  9. Well said ,I applaud you!!!!! I have lived in this city since 1965 and now my husband works 6 days a week and if over time is offered he takes it. He should be retired but is not and neither am I .We lost our pension when the country went into recession and now he is trying to build back up,but we keep our home up,we don’t drag our neighborhood down we pay for permits any time we our doing work on our home which a lot of people don’t.Now we have empty houses all over and the ones who are rented out are not being taken care of and the city does nothing about it. Not all rented homes are that way but when I went to get some work done to our home the person I spoke to and laughed while saying Oh you live in the ghetto Ha Ha.People put there garbage cans out and don’t bring back in their yard for days cut their grass and leave all the grass in the street don’t clean it up. It was never like this before, and yes we do call the city about it but nothing is done I agree with you this man was out of line, but there is an underlining motive for his action and he insulted us with his remarks.We pay our taxes on time and expect in return what we are paying for.

    Like

Leave a Reply

